Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Floyd County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Floyd County

Guide to Floyd County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Floyd County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Floyd County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1892
County Seat Roma
Courthouse
Address Floyd County Courthouse
3 Government Plaza
Roma, GA 30161
Phone: 706.291.5190
Floyd County Website


County Information

Floyd County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1834

1840
1840
1837


County Courthouse

Floyd County Courthouse
3 Government Plaza
Roma, GA 30161
Phone: 706.291.5190

Probate Court has marriage and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
3 Government Plaza, Rm 101
P.O. Box 1110 (30162)
Rome, GA 30161
Telephone: (706) 291-5190
Fax: (706) 233-0035

Probate Court of Floyd County
Floyd County Administrative Offices
Three Government Plaza, Suite 201
Rome, GA 30161
Telephone: 706-291-5138
Fax: 706-291-5189

History

Parent County

1832--Floyd County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Rome [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bartow County  • Chattooga County  • Cherokee County  • Gordon County  • Polk County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Floyd, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Floyd County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Episcopal

St. Peter's Church, Rome

Baptism

  • 1843-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Baptism Index 1843-1940. Batch C712841 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Marriage

  • 1848-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Marriage Index 1848-1940. Batch M712841 at FamilySearch - free.[5]

Burial

  • 1849-1940 - St. Peter's Church, Rome, Burial Index 1849-1940. Batch B393679 at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Methodist Episcopal

Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1873-1885 - Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1873-1885. Batch C712821 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1873-1895 - Van's Valley Methodist Episcopal Church Marriage Index 1873-1895. Batch M712821 at FamilySearch - free.[8]

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Battey, George Magruder, Jr. A History of Rome and Floyd County. State of Georgia - United States of America. 1540-1922. Atlanta, Ga.: Webb and Vary, 1922. Digital version at Ancestry ($). Another digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gafloyd.jpg

Military

  • Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies A, E, and H
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies B, and D
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- 65th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Comapny D
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Bartow County Genealogical Society (Ga.). 1995. Bartow County, Georgia heritage book. Cartersville, Ga: The Society. (page 12 - 8th Battalion Companies A and B from Bartow, Gordon, and Floyd counties)  FHL Collection Other Libraries
  • Battey, George Magruder. 1922. A history of Rome and Floyd County, state of Georgia, United States of America: including numerous incidents of more than local interest, 1540-1922, vol. 1. Atlanta [Georgia]: Webb and Vary Co. (page 137-195)  975.835 H2b digital version
  • Williams, Marvin. 1961. C. S. A. collection of Marvin Williams, 1855-1875. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 262665 item 4
  • Bagwell, J. W. 1961. Correspondence of J. W. Bagwell and military index card. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 262655 item 1
  • Long, Nimrod William Ezekial. 1961. Correspondence of Nimrod William Ezekial Long, 1853-1864. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 262655 item 2-3
  • Griffeth collection of letters and family charts, 1856-1890. 1961. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 262660
  • Hightower, Thomas M. 1961. Letters of Thomas M. Hightower, 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 26250
  • Confederate States of America. Army. Georgia Volunteer Regiment, 22nd, Company G. 1961. Report of reunion of Co. "G" of 22nd Regiment Georgia Volunteers, 1895-1926. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 282766 item 2
  • Clark, Reuben Grove. 1961. War experience of Capt. Reuben Grove Clark, 1891. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 262651 item 1
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Floyd County). 1961. C.S.A. military records(loose records), 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 282778 item3
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Floyd County). 1961. Confederate soldier roster, 1861-1865; pension rolls, 1890-1940. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 282763, 282764, 282765 item1
  • Georgia. Provost Marshall (Rome). 1961. Provost marshall records, 1864-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. 282762 item2

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Floyd County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Floyd County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 31-32. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/9/92/Igipennsylvaniaf.pdf.