|Florida Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- Ohio and Florida, City Directories, 1902-1960. Images only.
History[edit | edit source]
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
Directories are particularly helpful for research in large cities where a high percentage of the people were renters, new arrivals, or temporary residents. In fact, a directory may be the only source that lists a person if he was not registered to vote and did not own property. Most households were included because the directories were created for salesmen, merchants, and others interested in contacting residents of an area.
Directories have other clues that may require careful study to discover. For example, people in similar or related occupations were often relatives, in-laws, or friends. A year-by-year study of directories may reveal the movements of ancestors and relatives within the city and sometimes to or from other cities.
Examples of directories that may be found in an archive are: city directories, telephone directories, church directories, occupational directories, farmers directories, or rosters of society members.
Directories of heads of households have been published for major cities in Florida.
Resources for Florida Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
The Florida Historical Society and the Florida State University have various Florida city directories. Local libraries often have city directories for their areas. See PublicLibraries.com for a list of contact information for these libraries and other college libraries.
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com ($) has Florida directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
The Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Florida including:
1904-1935 set of microfilms (beginning on FHL film 1759897).
1941, 1953-54, 1966, 1970 FHL books 975.938 E4p
1931, 1941, 1946, 1950, 1953 and 1971 FHL books 975.912/J1 E4p.
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- FLORIDA, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- FLORIDA, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.