Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Fleming County

Guide to Fleming County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Flemingsburg
Organized: February 10, 1798
Parent County(s): Mason[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bath  • Lewis  • Mason  • Nicholas  • Robertson  • Rowan
See County Maps
Courthouse
Fleming County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Fleming County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Fleming (1735–1791), early settler of Kentucky. The County has Flemingsburg as its seat and the County was created 1798. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Fleming County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
Flemingsburg, KY 41041-1399
Phone: 606-845-8461
Fleming County Website[3]

Fleming County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1798 1852 1798 1798 1798 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1798--Fleming County was created 10 February 1798 from Mason County.
  • County seat: Flemingsburg[5]

1/1/1824 Nicholas County was created from Fleming County. For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county.[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Bald Hill
  • Battle Run
  • Beechburg
  • Bluebank
  • Carpentersville (hist.)
  • Colfax
  • Concord
  • Cowan
  • Craintown
  • Dalesburg
  • Fairview
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fleming, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Fleming county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 5,016
1810 8,947 78.4%
1820 12,186 36.2%
1830 13,499 10.8%
1840 13,268 −1.7%
1850 13,914 4.9%
1860 12,489 −10.2%
1870 13,398 7.3%
1880 15,221 13.6%
1890 16,078 5.6%
1900 17,074 6.2%
1910 16,066 −5.9%
1920 15,614 −2.8%
1930 12,931 −17.2%
1940 13,327 3.1%
1950 11,962 −10.2%
1960 10,890 −9.0%
1970 11,366 4.4%
1980 12,323 8.4%
1990 12,292 −0.3%
2000 13,792 12.2%
2010 14,348 4.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Argo] Sharp, John L. From Adam to the Royalty of England and Scotland to the Families of Fleming County, Kentucky: or the Ancestors of Selvinous Dina Argo. Morehead, Ky.: J.L. Sharp, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 Ar38a
  • [Asbury] Holtzclaw, B.C. "Asbury of Westmoreland County, Virginia," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Jul. 1967):55-65; Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1967):77-87; Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1968):10-26. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Bennington] Bennington Family [Will of William Bennington, Fleming County, Kentucky, 1801]. Typescript. Microfilmed 1989. FHL Film 1638368 Item 3
  • [Burgess] Reginald, R. The House of the Burgesses: Being a Genealogical History of Edward Burgess of King George and Stafford counties, Virginia, with His Sons - Garner Burgess of Fauquier Co., Virginia; William Burgess of Stafford Co., Virginia; Moses Burgess of Orange County, Virginia; Reuben Burgess of Rowan Co., North Carolina - and His Grandsons - Edward Burgess of Culpeper Co., Virginia; John Burgess of Harrison Co., Kentucky; Henry Burgess of Fleming Co., Kentucky; Edward Burgess of Scott Co., Kentucky; John P.B. Burgess of Halifax Co., Virginia; Edward Burgess of Kanawha Co., West Virginia; William Burgess of Davie Co., North Carolina; Reuben Burgess of Davie Co., North Carolina; and Thomas Burgess of White Co., Tennessee - Together with Their Known Descendants Named Burgess. San Bernardino, Calif.: Borgo Press, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 B912r
  • [Fulton] Engle, Caroline Dayton. "Major Hugh Fulton of Augusta Co., Va., and Fleming Co., Ky.," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 60, No. 1 (Mar. 1972):65-67. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 60
  • [Heflin] Heflin, Donald L. Reuben Heflin of Somewhere in Virginia to Mason, Fleming & Mason counties, KY, 1785-1863. Georgetown, Ky.: D.L. Heflin, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 H361hdd
  • [Hester] Searl, Hester Geraldine Lester. Hester Genealogy, A Story of Some Descendants of John Hester and Early Settler of Fleming County, Kentucky, Who Arrived in America in the Year 1740. Patterson, Calif.: H.G.L. Searl, 1972. FHL Book 929.273 H469s
  • [Hilligoss] Danell, Jennie. Hilligoss Family of Fleming County, Kentucky and Rush County, Indiana. Fresno, Calif.: J. Danell, 197-?. FHL Book 929.273 H558d
  • [Owens] Owens, David Hatfield. Owens Family of Virginia (Richmond, King George, Stafford, Prince
  • William, Fauquier Counties) and Kentucky (Mason, Lewis, Fleming, Bracken, Mercer, Boyle Counties). Ann Arbor, Mich.: D.H. Owens, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 Ow2od 1991
  • [Smith] Hall, William K. Robert Smith Born about 1732, Died about 1798 of Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania and Fleming County, Kentucky. St. Louis, Mo.: W.K. Hall, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 Sm51hb
  • [Vincent]
  • [Walton] Walton, John. "Job Walton of Fleming County, Kentucky," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 52, No. 1 (Mar. 1964):15-24. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 52

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Robertson CountyMason CountyLewis CountyRowan CountyBath CountyNicholas CountyKY FLEMING.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Fleming County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate). Companies B and C.
- 6th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Fleming County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.B

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Fleming County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Fleming County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Fleming County Historical Society
    207 E. Main Street
    Flemingsburg, KY 41041

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fleming County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fleming_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fleming County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Fleming County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fleming_County,_Kentucky, accessed 10 August 2018
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Fleming_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3338994"