Flamborough, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Flamborough, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bridlington|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FLAMBOROUGH (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Bridlington, wapentake of Dickering, East Riding of York, 4 miles ENE from Bridlington. Church of England records began in 1564. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
FLAMBOROUGH, a village and a parish in Bridlington district, East Riding Yorkshire. The village stands in a hollow, near the centre of a promontory, 2 miles E of Marton railway station, and 4 NE by E of Bridlington. It was known to the Saxons as Fleamburg, signifying "light town." 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Flamborough exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Flamborough (1558) Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A,. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 238-241. Date Accessed: November 7, 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 2 April 2013.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.