Fjotland Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fjotland, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Vest-Agder County
Fjotland

Guide to Fjotland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Church Records

Fjotland church.jpg
Fjotland clerical district contains the priests records from Fjotland parish. It was annexed to Kvinesdal (Liknes) clerical district until 1753, Hægebostad (Øvre Kvinesdal) clerical district from 1753 to 1841 and back to Kvinesdal clerical district from 1841 to 1857. Microfilms of these records are available at the Family History Library.


  • The church books from 1710-1816 have been transcribed and are available in PDF format. They are found at www.kvinesdalhistorielag.no. A birth index 1710-1826 sorted by farm, a death index 1760-1816 sorted by farm, and marriage indexes sorted by both bride and groom are also available at this site.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Øvre Kvinesdal / Fjotland: 1710-1840

Fjotland: 1841-1941

Kvinesdal / Fjotland: 1816-1849

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 35) for Hægebostad clerical district includes Hægebostad, Eiken, and Fjotland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

7 Aamland øvre, 49 Aarstøl, 6 Aaseheien, 34 Aasemoen, 34 Aasen, 39 Aasen indre

46 Brulien nedre

25 Eftestøl, 38 Eiaasland, 31 Eigeland, 8 Engedal

33 Fjotland, 46 Furøen, 24 Førlandsaasen

47 Galdal, 18 Gunstenslien

23 Haaland, 43 Haddeland, 30 Harbakken nedre, 2 Helle, 6 Homme ytr, e53 Homstøl, 42 Høidalen

22 Knaben, 52 Knabeneset, 48 Knibestøl, 11 Kraageland, 3 Kvinlog nedre, 9 Kvinlog øvre

9 Lian, 28 Lien, 15 Lindefjeld, 12 Lindeland, 14 Lindhommen

26 Mjaavatn, 17 Moland, 35 Mygland

1 Narvestad, 19 Netland, 20 Netlandsneset

21 Risnes, 5 Risøen, 27 Røiland, 32 Røinebuen

50 Salmeli, 13 Seland, 9 Solbar, 51 Solhom, 16 Solli, 4 Spikkeland, 37 Spillebrok, 10 Stakkeland, 9 Storaageren

34 Under Aasen

41 Valdro, 44 Veggeland, 9 Vetehaugen, 33 Vigen, 36 Vordalen.

The farm names listed in Johan Jerstad - Tor Beggeland. Gards- og Ættesoge in 1981 were as follows:

Annbjørnsbruket, Austegarden

Bakka Tosten, Bakken, Bakketun, Bekkefar, Bergesli, Bergheim, Bergtun, Bjartheim, Bjornes, Bjørkeli, Borte Der, Borte Dør, Brokkå, Bruli øvre, Bruli nedre, Brulunden, Bø

Daland, Dalen, Dalheim, Daurebrokkå, Der Framme, Dirksgarden, Djuan, Dugan, Dyngvoll, Dør borte, Dør Aust, Dør Borte, Dør Framme, Dør Heima, Dør Inne, Dør Nede, Dør Nere, Dør Nord, Dør Ude, Dør Uppe

Eddingsbruket, Eftestøl, Eiesland, Eigeland, Eitt bruk, Engedal

Fjellro, Fjelltun, Fjotland, Fossdal, Fosseli, Framme der, Framme dør, Fredheim, Fredli, Fritun, Frydenlund, Furuly, Furøy, Fænmyr, Førlandsås

Galdal, Garden nedre, Garden øvre, Geiskeli, Grenda-Sameli, Grønnes, Gunnstensli

Haddeland, Hagemyr, Hagen, Hageskogen indre, Hagetun, Hamarheim, Harbakk øvre, Hauan, Haugen, Haughom, Haugtun, Heima dør, Heimtun, Helle, Hermundsbruket, Homme, Homstøl, Høgevoll, Høydal, Håland, Håvardsgarden

Indre Hageskogen, Indre-Åsen, Indrevodden, Innigarden

Karsvoll, Kjølnes, Kleivan, Kleiveli, Kleivtun, Knaben, Knabeneset, Knibestøl, Knudsgarden, Krogan, Krognes, Krossen, Krågeland, Kvednhusvodden, Kvigenes, Kvinlog øvre, Kvæven, Kyrkjemonen

Leide, Letun, Lidvodden, Limoen, Lindefjell, Lindeland, Lindheim, Lindhom, Liægrå, Ljosdalen, Lunden, Lygledalen

Med Saie, Midbø, Mjåvatn, Moen, Moland, Monen, Mygland, Myre, Myrvang Nybruket

Narvestad, Nedre Bruli, Nedre Garden, Nedre Harbakk, Nedre Kvinlog, Nedre Stakkeland, Nedre garden, Nere der, Nere dør, Nesan, Nesemonen, Nesevodden, Netland, Netlandsnes, Nonåsen, Nordbø, Nordgarden, Nordigarden, Nordstrand, Norheim, Norås, Nybruk, Nybruket Myrvang, Nybruket Nyland, Nydal, Nygard, Nyland Nybruket, Nylende

Oddheim, Omland, Oppe der, Osu

Prestegarden, Pråmsbakken

Ribben, Risnes, Risøen, Risøy, Roddusgarden, Runnå, Rusteli, Røyland, Røynebu, Røynebuplassen

Saie med, Salmeli, Sameli-grenda, Sandvaik, Sandvoll, Sangtun, Saurfid, Seland, Sigbjørnsgarden, Sjøormen, Skoglund, Slottet, Sluttord, Smiebakken, Smisnes, Smålødnan, Snågje, Solbakk, Solbakken, Solberg, Solborg, Solesli, Solhaug, Solheim, Solhom, Solli, Soltun, Solvoll, Spikkeland, Spillebrok, Stakkeland nedre, Steinan, Stenulvstølen, Storabrodet, Storevoll, Storgarden, Stormo, Stornes, Storågren, Straumland, Svennung, Sørgarden

Toddemoen, Tolleigarden, Tonås, Toresgarden, Torgjesætta, Torusbruket, Torvløbakken, Tosten Bakka, Tuft

Udaforbakkjen, Ude der, Ude dør, Udigarden, Udpåvodden, Unne Bakkan, Uppe der, Uppåvodden

Valdro, Vangen, Veggeland, Vestheim, Vatehaugen, Vigebakken, Vigje, Voddan, Vodden, Vordal

Ydreland, Ytre Åsen

Øvre garden, Øvre Bruli, Øvre Harbakk, Øvre Kvinlog, Øvre Stakkeland, Øvregarden, Øyne heile garden, Øyusåsen

Ågard, Åknes, Årland, Årstøl, Åsemoen, Åsen ytre, Åsevodden, Åsheim

Probate Records

Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library

Lister judicial district
*1666-1829 Digitalarkivet

Flekkefjord judical district
*1810-1887 Family History Library
*1810-1907 Digitalarkivet

Lista deanery
*1804-1834 Family History Library
*1804-1834 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Jerstad, Jahan, Veggeland, Tor.  Gards og Ættesoge. Flekkefjord:  Hegland trykkeri, 1981.