Fjenneslev Parish, Sorø, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Sorø County
Fjenneslev
Fjenneslev Church

History

Fjenneslev church was built in 1130. There is a legend that says: As Asser Rig and his wife, Inge, were building the new church, Asser was called to war, and Inge had to finish the church alone. They were very unhappy to have to separate, because not only did Asser have to go to war, but Inge also was pregnant with their first child. As Asser rose to horse, he bowed down and whispered to Inge: "Hear, my dear Inge, if you give me a son, build this church with a tower, you give me a daughter, build it with only a spire.". As Asser returned home and looked at the two towers from the green brink, he understood that his wife had born him two sons (Esbern Snare and Bishop Absalon). This legends is not historically accurate for a number of reasons. For starters Esbern and Absalon were not twins and the towers were not built at the same time as the rest of the church. The towers were not created by the parents to honor their sons, in fact, the opposite is true. The sons created the towers to honor their parents. At the same time, the sons also decorated the interior with frescos one of which shows the parents bringing the church to God.[1]

Fjenneslev Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), Roskilde (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Alsted-Fjenneslev (Early-1971), Slaglille-Bjernede-Alsted-Fjenneslev (1971-Present)
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sorø
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Sorø
Herred (district) Alsted
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 2
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 2
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 2/55
Gods (estate) Sorø Akademis gods; Mørup gods


Place Names:

Brohuset,

Fjenneslev, Fjenneslev Huse, Fjenneslev Mark, Kirke-, Fjenneslev Mølle Kirke-, Fjenneslev Kirke-, Lb., Fjenneslevmagle, Fjenneslevmagle, Lb., Frøsmose,

Kirke Fjenneslev,

Mørup, Mørup Brohus, Mørup Hovmark, Mørup Huse, Mørup, Hgd.,

Oldengaarden

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
Gothic Script and examples (Danish)
Gothic script help links (Danish)
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Sorø Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Sorø" and then select your parish.


References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.3, Sorø Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1921