Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) Parish, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Sogn og Fjordane County
Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal)


Guide to Fjaler, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

Fjaler clerical district contains the parish registers from the parishes Holmedal, Dale i Fjaler, and Guddal. The records begin in 1755

Fjaler clerical district was called Holmedal clerical district before 1755 when it was divided into two separate clerical district: Indre Holmedal (Gaular) and Ytre Holmedal (Fjaler). The name was changed from Ytre Holmedal to Fjaler in 1912.

Microfilm at the Family History Library cover the years 1755-1927.


Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Fjaler: 1755-1886

Fjaler / Dale: 1852-1927

Fjaler / Guddal: 1854-1921

Fjaler / Holmedal: 1895-1940

Census Records

  • Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666.  The1664-1666 census for Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Fjaler, Holmedal, Vik i Gaular, Guddal, Dale i Fjaler, Bygstad and Sande and was kept by the local civil authorities.  This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666.  The 1664-1666 census for Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Dal i Fjaler, Bygstad, Sande, Holmedal, Guddal, Vik i Gaular and Fjaler; and was kept by the local parish priests.  This census is avaialble on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntall 1701 : optatt av fogderi, sorenskrivere og sogne prester ifølge kongebrev av 26 Juli 1701. The 1701 census for Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Fjaler, Vik i Gaular, Sande, Bygstad, Holmedal, Dale i Fjaler, and Guddal.  This census is available on microfilm at the Famly History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Holmedal, Fjaler, Dale i Fjaler and Guddal.  This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  It is also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census for Fjaler (Ytre Holmedal) clerical district include the parishes of Fjaler, Dale i Fjaler, Holmedal and Guddal.  This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Fageheim, Ragnvald and Fagerheim, Magne,Fjaler, gards- og ættesoge, [S.l.] : Utgjevar Fjaler sogelag, 1976. Contains a genealogy of the people and a brief history of the farms they lived on. Vol l Holmedal parish, Vol 2 Dale parish and Vol 3 Dale and Guddal parishes. 948.34/F1 Def Farm name indexes to volumes 1-3 are found in the following links. File:948.34-F1 D2f V1 - Fjaler.pdf, File:948.34-F1 D2f V2 - Fjaler - Dale Skon.pdf, File:948.34-F1 D2f V3 - Fjaler.pdf

Probate Records

1677-1881: Probates may be found in Sunnfjord judicial district.

1794-1846: Clerical probates may be found in Sunnfjord Deanery.