To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Fitjar Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Fitjar, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Fitjar Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Fitjar
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Fitjar
Fogderi Søndhordland
Sorenskriveri Søndhordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Fitjar clerical district). Contains parish registers for Fitjar parish with Bekkjarvik chapel. Fitjar was separated from Stord clerical district in 1862. For earlier records see Stord clerical district. Records available from 1862-1928.

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Fitjar: 1862-1928
Fitjar/Bekkjarvik: 1900-1928
Fitjar/Fitjar: 1862-1928

For earlier records see Stord

Census Records[edit | edit source]

See Stord for census records before 1865.

  • 1875 Census Fitjar clerical district is on microfilm at Family History Library Film 273502.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Aaland, Jacob and Helland, Andreas,Fitjar, bygdeskipnad og bygdesoga, Contains three volumes in one binding. The first volume is a history of Fitjar in Hordaland county. The second volume is a genealogy of the people and their farms while the third volume tells about the people who emigrated to America. FHL 948.32/F2 H2a v. 1-3 A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.32-F2 H2a V1-3 - FITJAR 1-3.pdf

Steinsbø, Simon, Fitjar bygdebok, [Fitjar] : Fitjar kommune-bygdeboknemnd, 1986. A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Fitjar, Hordaland, Norway. An index was created for these volumes by FHL missionaries and staff and have been added to the front of the books. These farm name indexes are found at the following links. File:948.32-F2 D2s V1 - Fitjar V1.pdf, File:948.32-F2 D2S v2 - FITJAR 2-2.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows

57 Aarbø 69 Aarskog 18 Afløipet 42 Aga 42 Agasøsteren

11 Baateviken 9 Bekkervik 5 Blænes 68 Breivik 2 Brekke 20 Bukholmen

39 Dalen 8 Drivenes søndre

24 Eggøen vestre 23 Eggøen østre 89 Eide 26 Eidet 17 Engesund vestre 82 Engevik midtre

45 Fattigmandshavn 65 Fitje

12 Gaukseim 29 Gisøsund 16 Glopholmen 71 Gloppen 11 Grasdalen 42 Grunnesundsholmen

12 Haattviken 86 Hageberg 25 Hanøen 40 Hatlevik 67 Havnen 49 Helland 48 Hjelmen 50 Hofstø 84 Hovland 3 Husevik

18 Ivarsøen

50 Jordnaaen

5 Kalsundsholmen 15 Kjeholmen 42 Klaksøen 49 Koløen 41 Kuviken 27 Kvarven 34 Kvernenes 6 Kviebakken

70 Lande 19 Langøen 79 Levaag nedre 56 Lierbø 72 Lillenes

37 Natterøen 60 Nesbø 13 Nordfonnen

42 Orrøen 1 Otteraaen

63 Præstbø

12 Ramesletten 54 Raudland 87 Raunholmen nordre 62 Rimbereid 35 Risøen

63 Sagastrand 78 Sandvik 33 Selsøen 21 Siglen 21 Sigleneset 64 Skaalevik 73 Skomsnes 77 Stokken nordre 53 Stokken søndre 47 Strømøen 50 Sæleviken 10 Sætre 55 Sætrebø 46 Sætrevik 14 Sørfonnen

44 Tangen 51 Tislevold 74 Tofteland lille 28 Torge 22 Torsdagsøen 38 Tranøen 5 Træet 76 Tveit 58 Tveite 36 Tverdarvik

7 Uglenes

61 Vespestad 43 Veøen 6 Vik nordre 52 Vik store 59 Vik søndre 32 Viken nordre 11 Vikestølen 4 Vinnes 85 Vistvik 66 Volden

30 Ylvesund


The following farms are listed in: Steinsbø, Simon, Fitjar Bygdebok, Vol 1, (Fitjar: Fitjar Kommune Bygdeboknemnd, 1986).


Aga; Aganeset; Agasøster; Agasøsteren; Agasøstero; Agjo; Alfsberget; Alnaplasset; Arholmen; Arnestad; Askehaugen; Austebøen; Austelhaugen; Austgard; Austli; Austneset; Austre Eggøyo; Austre Engesund; Austre Stykket; Austre Tjødnadalen; Austvik; Avløypet;Bakkatun; Bakken; Bakketun; Bakkjen; Baldersheim; Barlindevikjo; Bay, Walter; Berget; Bergheim; Bergli; Bergmark; Bergstad; Bergtun; Bjerkelid; Bjørke; Bjørkehaug; Bjørkehaugen; Bjørkeli; Bjørkelund; Bjørkely; Bjørkenes; Bjørkestølen; Bjørketun; Bjørkhaug; Bjørkheim; Bjørnebu; Bleikjo; Bloksberg; Blåbærhaugen; Brakahaugen; Brandasund; Brattalid; Breidablikk; Bremerholm; Brendøyo, Litla; Brendøyo, Stora; Brennholmen; Bruholm; Bruket, Nordre; Bruket, Søra; Buaholmen; Bukkholmen; Bukkøyo; Bukkøyo, Litla; Bukkøyo, Litle; Bukkøyo, Stora; Bustebrotet; Bøkeneset; Bøkjeneset; Bøneset; Bøtun; Bøvik; Bårholmen; Båtstøa; Clementine; Dalen; Dalen, Nordre; Dalheim; Dallen; Det Grøna; Draumehaugen; Dyrdal; Dyrholmen; Då, Søre; Dåfjord; Dåfjord Verft; Eggøyo, Austre; Eggøyo, Vestre; Eidet; Eidøyo; Eikeli; Eikelund; Einebu; Ekrehaugen; Ekro; Eldøy, Store; Elvatun; Elvebakken; Endreneset; Endreplads; Engesund; Engesund, Austre; Eplehagen; Espøen; Fagerbø; Fanabu; Farholmen; Fattigmannshavn; Fellesholmen; Fiskesyn; Fjellheim; Fjelltun; Fjordglytt; Flatholmen; Flatøy; Flatøyo; Fodnabryggja; Fodno, Nord; Fodno, Sør; Forundringsbakken; Fredheim; Fredly; Fureholmen; Furuhaug; Furuhaugen; Furuholmen; Furulund; Furunes; Furuneset; Furutangnen; Fyr, Ringholmen; Fyr, Slåtterøy; Gamlehagen; Garden, Heile; Gassatåo; Gassen; Gassen, Nordre; Geitaneset; Gisøyo; Gisøysund; Gjerdebu; Gjerdet; Gjere; Gjestebu; Glamshausen; Glamsheim; Glamslid; Glamstun; Gloppholmen; Granli; Granly; Grantun; Grindheim; Grunnasundsholmen; Grøna; Det; Grøndalen; Grønevik; Gullureneset; Guribo; Gønneli; Gåsahaugen; Hadleshaugen; Hadlo; Hagakleivo; Hagatun; Halvardsbu; Hammaren; Hanøyo; Haraldshaug; Haringeholet; Hatlevik,Skole; Hatlevikhavn; Hatlevikjo; Haugatun; Haugbu; Haugen; Haugen, Nordre; Haugsetervikjo; Haugsætervik; Haugsætervikjo; Haugtun; Havglytt; Havnetun; Hedlo; Heggheim; Heile;Garden; Heimatun; Heimdal; Heimkleiv; Heimly; Heimro; Heimtun; Heimvik; Heinebu; Helgatun; Helgeland; Helgheim; Helland; Hellandsholmen, Nordre; Hellandsneset; Hellandstølen; Hemsebu; Herandeplasset; Hermannsplass; Hermannsplasset; Hestahaugen; Hidleren; Hjelmen; Hjelmstadnes; Hofstad; Hogste; Holet; Holmen; Hovstad; Hyseberget; Hyttemont; Hyttevik; Høgtun; Høyvikjo; Håboholmane; Hålandsvik; Ingeneset; Ingertun; Ivarsøyneset; Ivarsøyo; Jensatun; Jonshaug, Nordre; Jonshaug, Søre; Jordnåen; Jordnåo; Jørgensholmen; Kasaplasset; Kasatåo; Kastevik; Kjeholmen; Kjeldal; Kjærelven; Kjødnadalen; Klaksøy; Klaksøyo; Klampen; Kleivo; Kloven; Klubben; Klungerholmen; Knatten; Knausen; Kolstø; Kolølen; Koløyo; Koløysto; Kongeskjær; Kongestølen; Konvallhaugen; Korsviken; Korsvikjo; Kosebu; Krabbavik; Krabbavikjo; Kringsja; Krokhaugen; Kråko; Kuhidlerhaugen; Kuvikjo; Kvakholmen; Kvarven; Kvarven Skule; Kvedna; Kvednaneset; Kvernenesdalen; Kvilehaugen; Kvileholo; Laland; Lambholmen; Lambholmen, Søre; Landfastholmen; Langholmen; Lauvholmen; Liarbø; Lidarende; Lien; Lines; Lio; Litla Brendøyo; Litla Bukkøyo; Litle Bukkøyo; Litlehaugen; Litleholmen; Longøyo; Lunde; Luraberget; Lyngdal; Lyngen; Lynghaug; Lynghei; Lyngheim; Lyngnes; Lyngrabben; Lyseklostergodset; Lærartun; Løbakkhaugen; Løkjene; Lønevågen; Lønneplasset; Løtufta; Magnusbu; Marina; Marlaukevikjo; Martebu; Maurhaugen; Midttun,Søre; Midttun; Midtun; Midtvik; Midtvikjo; Mjelkehaugen; Mjølhilderen; Monstun; Monsvik; Monsvikjo; Murane; Myren, Nordre; Myren, Søndre; Myrhaug; Myrli; Myro; Natterøyhaug, Nordre; Natterøyhaugen; Natterøyo; Naustet; Nausthammaren; Nausttufta; Nedrebø; Neset; Neset Øspøyo, Ytra; Nesheim; Nisseberget; Nordanvindshagen; Nordbø; Norddal; Nord- Fodno; Nordli; Nordneset; Nordra Skaret; Nordra Øspøyo; Nordre Bruket; Nordre Dalen; Nordre Gassen; Nordre Haugen; Nordre Hellandsholmen; Nordre Jonshaug; Nordre Myren; Nordre Natterøyhaug; Nordre Viken; Nordre Øspøy; Nordtun; Nordvikjo; Norheim; Norsol; Norteig; Nortun; Nuten; Nyborg; Nybrotet; Nybø; Nygård; Nygaard; Nyhaug; Nyhavn; Nyheim; Nyland; Nylund; Nymark; Nystøl; Nytun; Nyvågshola; Næsheim; Olatun; Oldtun; Olympen; Orrøyo; Ospeli; Oterstøo; Paletten; Parsell; Persplasset; Pilarholmen; Pilarvik; Pilarvikjo; Porsvik; Pøilene; Rabben; Ragnaplasset; Ragnepladset; Ragnhildsplass; Rasmusplasset; Raudlandselven; Raunehaug; Raunevik; Rennedalen; Repelen; Reset; Revet; Rindabø; Rindane; Ringholmen Fyr; Ringholmen; Rinholmen; Risanger; Risøyo; Risøytræ; Rognaldsvåg; Russadalen; Russavikjo; Rød; Rødland; Røysvik; Sagelven; Salem; Sandvik; Sandvikjo; Saugholmen; Seiavikjo; Siglebryggja; Sigleneset; Siglo; Signalstasjonen; Silkjeberhålo; Siritunet; Sjøbu; Sjøbuplasset; Sjøbuvikjo; Sjøhaug; Sjøhuset; Sjøhushaugen; Sjølid; Sjøro; Sjøstrand; Sjøtun; Sjåhaugen; Skaffarholmen; Skara; Skarabu; Skaraneset; Skaret; Skaret, ordra; Skaret, Søre; Skatholmen; Skinet; Skjenabråtet; Skjæret; Skogli; Skogly; Skogtun; Skole Hatlevik; Skomyro; Skule Kvarven; Skulehusbrunnen; Skuleneset; Skuleplassen; Skuteviken; Sletthaugen; Sletto, Stora; Slåtterøy Fyr; Slåttholmen; Slåtto; Smedholmen; Solbakken; Solberg; Solbu; Solhaug; Solheim; Solli; Sollund; Solmyr; Solnes; Solodden; Solstad; Solstrand; Soltopp; Soltun; Solvang; Solvik; Soløen; Soløyholmen; Soløyo; Somartun; Spannsholmen; Standstø; Stasjonshuset; Steinatun; Steinen, Store; Steingard Stølen; Steingardshaugen; Steinrøysa; Steinsletta; Stenaberg; Stinehaugen; Stokken, Øvre; Stokkjen, Søre; Stora Brendøyo; Stora Bukkøyo; Stora Sletto; Storavikjo; Store Brennøen; Store Eldøy; Store Steinen; Storhaugen; Storma; Storåkeren; Strandbu; Stranli; Straumbakken; Straumsneset; Straumstad; Straumsvågen; Straumøyo; Stykket, Austre; Stølane; Stølehaugen; Stølen; Stølen, Søre; Stølsheim; Stølslid; Stølstøo; Stølsvegen; Størkaplass; Sunnavindshaugen; Sveviken; Svevikjo; Svio; Sydbø; Synningjo; Sælavikjo; Sælavikjo, Søre; Sælevik, Østre; Sæleviken; Sælevikjo; Sæterbu; Sæterbø; Sætravikjo; Sølvbelteholmen; Søndre Myren; Sønningen; Søra Bruket; Søramyr; Sørbu; Sørbø; Søre Gassen; Søre Jonshaug; Søre Lambholmen; Søre Skaret; Søre Stokkjen; Søre Sælavikjo; Søre Viken; Sør Fodno; Sørhaug; Sørheia; Sørheim; Sørlid; Sørly; Sørstrand; Sørteig; Sørvikjo; Sørås; Tarildeplass; Tarildeplasset; Teistholmen; Teløyryggen; Tingvoll; Tislavoll; Tjelmeland; Tjødnadalen; Tjødnadalen, Austre; Tjørndal; Tongjen; Torehaugen; Torgjo; Torsdagsøyo; Torsheim; Tranøyo; Trekanten; Treshaugen; Trollhaugen; Træ; Træ Vestre; Træet; Træsbakken; Træsmyro; Tunberg; Tussaheimen; Tveitaelva; Tverdarvik; Tverdarøyo; Tverrdarvik; Urheim; Uro; Utiskten; Utsikten; Utsyn; Valberg; Varanesdalen; Varaneset; Varden; Vasslien; Vassneshaugen; Vastølen; Vedøyo; Velomsplasset; Vendelbo; Verft Dåfjord; Vertreplasset; Vestbu; Vestbøen; Vesterheim; Vesthaug; Vestheim; Vestnes; Vestre Eggøyo; Vestre Træ; Vestro; Vesttun; Vestvik; Vibekebu; Vikebu; Viken Nordre; Viken Nøre; Vinsjevikjo; Vodlaneset; Vonheim; Vågen; Walter Bay; Ylvesund; Ytra Neset Øspøyo; Økland; Øklandshaugen; Ølvesøyo; Ørnehaug; Øspøy, Nordre; Øspøyo; Øspøyo, Nordra; Øspøyo Ytra, Neset; Østinestovo; Østre Sælevik; Øvre Stokken; Øvrebrotet; Øvstegaard; Øyatun; Åklandshaugen; Ånebu; Årbø; Årland; Aarland; Åsen; Aashammer; Åsly


The following farms are listed in Steinsbø, Simon, Fitjar Bygdebok, Vol. 2, (Fitjar: Fitjar Kommune Bygdeboknemnd, 1986).

Aarskogelven; Aasen; Aasheim; Aasly; Aattringskjaeret; Agatun; Aggregathytta; Ahrensburg; Aldersheimen; Alderskvile; Alfaheim; Alvheim; Alvsvågshagen; Apalbakken; Arhaugen; Asalehaugen; Auno; Auretun; Aurlandsvangen; Austdrott; Austerheim; Austhaugen; Austheim; Austli; Austre akken; Austrebøen; Automatkiosk Fitjar; Bakkatun; Bakkebu; Bakken, Austre; Bakken, Vestre; Bakketun; Bekkestua; Bekkjadalen; Bekkjafaret; Bekkjahaugen; Bergebu; Bergly; Bergtun; Bethania; Birkeli; Birkelund; Bjergstad; Bjorkelunden; Bjugstad; Bjørkelunden; Bjørkely; Bjørkhaug; Bjørkheim; Bjørkjestølen; Bjørklund; Blåbaerhaugen; Bondeborg; Botnen; Brakalio; Brakatun; Brakavik; Braketun; Brando; Brattalid; Brattastøo; Breiavikjo; Breidablikk; Breivikjo; Brekke; Brekko; Brudnahaugen; Brynlund; Bråte; Buhagen; Byggland; Bøtun; Båtahaugen; Centrum; Dalebu; Dalen; Dalen, Nedre; Dalen, Øvre; Dalheim; Dampen; Damphola; Drømmehaugen; Døsvikjo; Eide; Eidesbakken; Eikehaugen; Eikeli; Eikelund; Eikhaugen; Einarhaugen; Eineberg; Einerhaug; Ekeberg; Ekro; Elsebu; Elsero; Elvaspannstegen; Elvatun; Elvely; Elvespannsteigen; Enchen; Endelig; Engjavikjo, Midtre; Engjavikjo, Nordre; Engjavikjo, Søre; Engjavikneset; Engjelsplasset; Engtun; Engvoll; Espebakken; Espehaugen; Faerøysundet; Felo; Ferjestø; Festus; Finsabruket; Fitjar; Fitjar, Automatkiosk; Fitjar, Prestegard; Fitjarstølen; Fitjartun; Fitjaræ; Fittiehus; Fjellbu; Fjellgrunn; Fjellheim; Fjelltun; Flatmyr; Fle; Flora; Florane; Flåtavik; Fodnabu; Fodnahagen; Fodnatun; Fredheim; Fredlund; Fredtun; Fristad; Fristrand; Furhovden; Furuholmen; Furuholo; Gamletunet; Gardstad; Gardsvegen; Garnberget; Gillebu; Gloppevåg; Gloppo; Granly; Grantun; Grindaleite; Grønnevik; Haga; Hagabakkjen; Hagaplasset; Hageberg; Hagebø; Hagen; Haldeplassen; Hallanger; Hamnarhaug; Haraldsnes; Haugali; Haugatun; Haugen; Haugli; Havn; Havnaberg; Havnahagen; Havnahaugen; Havnaneset; Havnastø; Havnavegen; Havnehaugen; Havnerås; Havnestølen; Heggeli; Heggtun; Hegraneset; Heimglytt; Heimly; Heimstad; Heimstrand; Heimtun; Heimvoll; Helgakvil; Heljetun; Holdeplassen; Holmatun; Holmstrand; Holte; Hovland; Huldra; Huldravik; Hyggheim; Høgda; Hågard; Håkons Minde; Håkons Minne; Idrettsplassen; Idyllen; Indre Sandgåto; Industritomt; Industrituft; Industritufta; Ingemårsfolket; Innbø; Jansagården; Jehanstøo; Jotun; Juve; Kalvenes; Karensfryd; Karihaugen; Karivik; Katrinehaugen; Kikkut; Kjeilo; Kjelsnes; Kjosen; Kjøpmannstova; Kleivahalsen; Kleivahaugen; Klippen; Kloppene; Klosterbu; Klostergodset; Klubben; Klubben, Store; Knatten; Knausbakken; Knausen; Knutavikjo; Kobbavik; Kommunestykket; Kongshaug; Kongstunet; Kongstøl; Konvallhaugen; Kosekroken; Kringsjå; Kroa; Krokjen; Kronborg; Kråkjevikjo; Kråko; Kråo; Kuholo; Kuhålo; Kulebakken; Kulebakkjen; Kustegen; Kvednastrand; Kveldsol; Kvelve; Kvernbu; Kvile; Kvilebu; Ladebergvikjo; Laksneset; Lambatøkje; Landa; Leigebuarer; Leite; Leiteheim; Lerkehaugen; Levåg (Nedre); Levåg (Øvre); Levågneset; Lidarende; Lihaug; Lillebu; Lillenes; Lindahaugen; Liset; Litla Valberget; Litle Straumneset; Litle Tuftaland; Litlehaugen; Litletagen; Litlevarden; Liv; Ljosbakken; Lurane; Lyhaug; Lyngbø; Lyngbø; Lyngheim; Lyngås; Lønningsli; Løsekjo; Låvebru; Mangerstovo; Midtre Engjavikjo; Midttun; Minde, Håkons; Mittun; Mjelkekleivo; Mjølkebua; Mjølkeplassen; Moetun; Moldemyr; Moltebaerhaugen; Mortenstovo; Muren; Myren; Myrheim; Myro; Møllegård; Nabbahaugen; Nakkjen; Naustbrekka; Naustbu; Nausthaugen; Naustskjaeret; Nausttomt; Nausttomten; Nausttufta; Nedre Dalen; Nedre Levåg; Nedrebø; Neptun; Nesbø; Nesbøflaten; Nesbøneset; Neset; Nesttun; Nordal; Norddal; Nordfonn; Nordli; Nordly; Nordre Engjavikjo; Nordre lubben; Nordre Raunholm; Nordre Stokkjen; Nordstad; Nordstrand; Nordtun; Nore Sharpen; Noresjøen; Norheim; Nybakken; Nyborg; Nybø; Nygard; Nygård; Nyheim; Nyland; Nymark; Nytun; Oasen; Ocean; Olderbakken; Olderlia; Ollebakken; Omabu; Opheim; Oppigard; Orratuedalen; Oskarsvik; Oskarsvikjo; Osterheim; Parsell; Pollen; Prestbø; Prestbøbuo; Prestbødalen; Prestbøsjøen; Prestli; Primula; Pyttemyren; Pøylo; Rabben; Radiohytta; Rakelstrae; Raunehaugen; Raunelid; Raunholm, Nordre; Raunholm, Søre; Reigstad; Reino; Rimbareid; Rimbsvoll; Rimsvoll; Rindahaugen; Rindatun; Rishaugemyro; Robu; Rolvsaplasset; Rolvsastova; Rorbu; Rundehaugen; Rygg; Rynning; Røysheim; Røyso; Saelhaug; Saetre; Saevbu; Sagaborg; Sagaheim; Sagastrand; Sagatun; Sagland; Salomonstølen; Sandbrekko; Sandgaten; Sandgåto; Sandgåto, Indre; Sandvik; Sandvikjo; Sandvikvag; Sandvikvågen; Sandvoll; Seljeholo; Sellanrå; Sharpen, Nore; Sikje; Silkebaerhaugen; Sjøbu; Sjøbuneset; Sjøbuvikjo; Sjøglimt; Sjøglytt; Sjøly; Sjølyst; Sjøstrand; Sjøtun; Sjåhaugen; Skansen; Skarpen; Skarpen, Søre; Skjermheim; Skjælfiskevikjo; Skoggløtt; Skogly; Skogtun; Skolehustomten; Skotten; Skuleplassen; Skumsnes; Skålavikjo; Skålevik; Skår; Skåro; Skåte; Skåtet; Skåttun; Slagnes; Slettebakken; Slottet; Slotthaugen; Smedaplasset; Smiehaugen; Smio; Småbrekkene; Sniglebakken; Solbakk; Solbakken; Solberg; Solborg; Solbu; Soldal; Solfonn; Solglimt; Solglytt; Solhagen; Solhall; Solhaug; Solheim; Solheimsvegen; Solhella; Solli; Sollien; Sollund; Solnes; Solstad; Solstrand; Solstua; Soltoppen; Soltun; Solvang; Solås; Sondahaugen; Spannsteigen; Spohaneset; Steinahaugen; Steinbrot; Steingardnes; Stokkjen, Nordre; Storamyro; Storasletto; Store, Klubben; Store, Tuftaland; Storekjosen; Storeliholmen; Storhaugdalen; Storkheim; Strandbu; Stranden; Strandhaugen; Strandheim; Strandheim; Strandli; Strandly; Strando; Strandsjø; Straumneset, Litle; Strondi; Strømsbu; Stølabu; Stølatun; Stølen; Stølshaugen; Stølsheim; Stølsheimen; Stølstun; Stølås; Støo; Størkahuset; Svanhaug; Sveiseneset; Svinetræ; Syden; Sæto; Søre Engjavikjo; Søre Raunholm; Søre karpen; Sørtun; Tangen; Tangstrand; Tarldsfolket; Thorland; Tingvoll; Tompen; Tongana; Torgenaustet; Torkildsbarbrohuset; Tormodbu; Torskeplassen; Tortun; Traeet; Trafoplassen; Trolløye; Trondshaug; Trudvang; Trønderheim; Tuen; Tuftaland, Litle; Tuftaland, Store; Tuftebu; Tunheim; Tveit; Tveita; Tveitatræ; Tveitehaugen; Tverrbrekko; Tørresbruket; Uatløeplasset; Ullarhaugen; Undehaugen; Underhaugen; Utheim; Utsikten; Utsyn; Utsyn, Store; Valbergstad; Vang; Varatun, Store; Varhaugskaret; Vassverket; Vestbu; Vestbø; Vestbøstad; Vestbøstadfeltet; Vesterheimen; Vesterlid; Vestli; Vestly; Vestre Bakken; Vik; Vikaheio; Vikebu; Vindheim; Vistvikjo; Vodl; Vodlatun, Søre; Volden; Vonheim; Waagheim; Ystenes; Ørnereiret; Øskjenesklubben; Øskjenesvikjo; Øspehaugen; Østli; Østvold; Øvjtun; Øvre Dalen; Øvre Levåg; Øvrebø; Øvretun; Øvsttun; Øyjoro; Øyro; Ågetestov; Årskog; Åsly

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Fehr, Edmund A. (Edmund Arthur), 1915: The ancestors and posterity of christian Hertzberg von der Fehr: and Marie Nielsen and Martha Jans Boulton.

Microreproduction of book published: [Lehi, Utah : E. A. Fehr, 1980?]. ca. 150 leaves : coat of arms, facsims., geneal. tables, maps, ports.

Includes Boulton, Butler and related families.

Christian Hertzberg von der Fehr (1844-1930) immigrated from Norway to New York and then San Francisco in 1867, and became a convert to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He moved to Salt Lake City, Utah and married twice. Descendants lived in Utah, New Mexico, Colorado and elsewhere. Includes some English ancestry. Includes Norwegian ancestry in Fitjar, Hordaland County, and Bergen, Bergen County. FHL 1035844 Item 6

Magneson, Roger Dean, 1950: Halvor M. Magneson's descent.

Contains: 1. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the Galtung and Smør families of Austevoll, Fitjar, Stord, and Sund parishes of Hordaland, Norway -- 2. Halvor M. Magneson's descent from the viking kings.

Number 1 contains a pedigree chart, ahnenlist, and genealogical table connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the prominent Galtung and Smør families. Number 2 contains a pedigree chart and 8 genealogical tables connecting Halvor M. Magneson (1876-1942) to the viking kings. FHL 929.2481 M274

To view a digital version of no 1 click here

To view a digital version of no 2 clcik here


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names