Fishers Indiana Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and Events
- 2.1 Upcoming Events
- 2.2 Class Schedule
- 2.3 Center Resources
- 2.4 Reasons to come to the Family History Centers to work on your family history..
- 2.5 Not all portal website content is free. Although we have been given access to websites on the Family History Center Services Portal, not every website gives us 100 percent access to content. For example, in October 2012, findmypast.com launched some new records for the USA, Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland. However, these records are not part of the Community Edition subscription and therefore are not accessible at family history centers. The same applies to Ancestry.com and some other portal websites.
- 2.6 Premium Family History Website Descriptions Note: You must access the premium subscription websites from a family history center computer through the Family History Center Services Portal. If you try to access them using the links below, the websites require an individual $ubscription.
- 3 Hardware and Equipment
- 4 Center Services
- 5 Resources in the Local Area
- 6 Links
- 7 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 777 Sunblest Blvd Fishers, IN 46038
Language: English (for now)
Phone: Call or Text the Temple and Family History Consultants/Directors:
Mark Fogg 515-979-9049 & Trudy Fogg 515-979-1535
Open Hours: Closed Week of July 4th
- Tuesday: 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
- Wednesday: 12:00 p.m. - 8:00p.m.
- Thursday: Closed until further notice
- Saturday: 9:00 a.m. - noon
- Other hours by appointment: Contact your Ward Temple and Family History Consultants or 'Call or Text the Temple and Family History Consultants/Directors:'
- Mark Fogg 515-979-9049 & Trudy Fogg 515-979-1535
As a policy, this facility is closed on all major holidays and closed for weather problems.
If Hamilton County Schools are closed or when there are travel or weather advisories for Hamilton County, we are closed also.
Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]
- Saturday July 13th 10:00 a.m. "Temple and Family History at the Intermediate Level"
- Saturday August 10th 10:00 a.m. "Detecting and Resolving Duplicates in Family Tree - FamilySearch"
- Saturday September 14th 10:00 a.m. "How to use FamilySearch.org WIKI for your research"
Class Schedule[edit | edit source]
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Reasons to come to the Family History Centers to work on your family history..[edit | edit source]
Not all portal website content is free. Although we have been given access to websites on the Family History Center Services Portal, not every website gives us 100 percent access to content. For example, in October 2012, findmypast.com launched some new records for the USA, Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland. However, these records are not part of the Community Edition subscription and therefore are not accessible at family history centers. The same applies to Ancestry.com and some other portal websites.[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers digital archive — https://find.galegroup.com/bncn/ This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
- Access Newspaper Archives — https://www.newspaperarchive.com/ This is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world. NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old—including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more—to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at Our NewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable. Try exploring the above site, and discover your history today!"
- Alexander Street Press American Civil War — https://alexanderstreet.com/ Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs.
- Alexander Street Press Letters and Diaries — https://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb/ Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor.
- Alexander Street Press Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera — https://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com/ Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images.
- Alexander Street Press Social and Cultural History — https://cpho.alexanderstreet.com/ Personal accounts of well-known historical figures. Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.
- American Ancestors — https://www.americanancestors.org/ Advance your family history research today with AmericanAncestors.org! Created by the expert staff at New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), America's founding genealogical organization. AmericanAncestors.org is the portal to the nation's leading resource for the highest-quality, comprehensive family history services. Consult with our expert staff, some of the most respected genealogists in the profession. Read the most significant original scholarship and important publications in genealogy. Access millions of exclusive and sought-after records online. Learn with in-depth online courses and webinars from expert staff. Explore the largest collection of original family history research materials in America.
- Ancestry.com — https://www.ancestry.com/ Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court records, land records, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
- ArkivDigital — https://www.arkivdigital.net/ ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to install the current client version of ArkivDigital Online.
- FamNet — https://www.nzgdb.co.nz/ The online family history network for those who have New Zealand roots.
- Findmypast — https://www.findmypast.co.uk/ Findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers. 1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website)—The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
- Fold3 (formerly Footnote.com) — https://www.fold3.com/ Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
- Geneanet — https://geneanet.org With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online. Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has 2 million members who exchange genealogical information.
- The Genealogist — https://www.thegenealogist.co.uk This resource, available in centers in the U.K. only, contains English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists. This site is now available only in the United Kingdom. It is NOT available anywhere else.
- Kinpoint Premium — https://kinpoint.com Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history by letting you see what to work on at a glance, quickly find missing information in your family tree, and discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.
- MyHeritage — Library Edition — https://myheritagelibraryedition.com/ Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history. Build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.
- Paper Trail — https://www.paper-trail.org/ Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
- ProQuest Obituary Listings — https://www.proquest.com/libraries/public/genealogy/ The ProQuest obituaries collection is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as the New York Times (dating back to 1851). The collection includes both famous and lesser-known individuals and can be searched by name or by keywords appearing in the body of the article.
- Puzzilla — https://puzzilla.org Free and Premium Services. Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- Computers and Headphones
- Microfilm/microfiche Readers
- Flatbed Scanner to copy and digitize photos, slides, negatives, and documents.
- Lexmark Scanner that has the ability to scan photos and documents directly into Family Tree.
- Free Wifi for personal computers and tablets.
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
One-on-one help in FamilySearch.org, and using the Premium Websites and Data Programs listed.
Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
Hamilton County Public Libraries
Links[edit | edit source]
- New to Family Search? Check out this link ---> Introduction to Family History Centers
- FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You!: A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.
- Are you traveling? https://www.familysearch.org/locations/
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
We are always looking for volunteers! If you have a desire, we have a time slot for you, whether it is once a month or more! Read a foreign language? We have need of volunteers who can translate text/documents for patrons. If you can volunteer for this, please contact us also!