Firbeck, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Firbeck, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1721|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1596|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Chancellor of York with the Prebendal Jurisdiction of Laughton en le Morthen|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Firbeck St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the Rotherham Metropolitan Borough of South Yorkshire which includes Stone. Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbor Blyth, Nottinghamshire
See also Firbeck Wikipedia
FIRBECK (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Worksop, S. division of the wapentake of Upper Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Tickhill. The church was built in 1820.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For history of civil registration in this area see Worksop Registration District
Online data content from chapelry registers of Firbeck exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|FIRBECK PARISH (1719) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Firbeck to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FIRBECK PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began 1721.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 235-238. Date Accessed 11 November 2013