Finsland Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Finsland, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway
Vest-Agder County
Finsland

Guide to Finsland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Finsland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 add here
Amt 1689-1919 add here
Fylke 1919-Present add here
Region add here
Prestegjeld add here
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag add here
Fogderi add here
Sorenskriveri add here
Skipreide add here


Church Records

See Bjelland Clerical District.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.

The 1801 census (b. 35) for Bjelland clerical district includes Bjelland, Grindheim, and Finsland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

13 Aamdal, 32 Aamsland, 27 Abaasland

1 Daastøl, 11 Djubesland, 29 Dyble, 18 Døinestøl

9 Eftestad, 33 Eigelien, 25 Espeland, 20 Esperaas

24 Finsland, 14 Fjeldskaar, 4 Fleskaasen, 35 Fløistø,l 36 Foldalen, 37 Folderaas, 22 Frikstad

2 Grindeland, 13 Grostøl

21 Harbakken, 39 Haugedal, 3 Hegland østre, 8 Heivolden, 31 Helland, 30 Hæraasen, 10 Hønemyr

44 Kimestad, 43 Kleveland nedre, 26 Kvelland

19 Lausland, 7 Leipsland

34 Manflaa, 17 Mæsel

35 Rægevigen, 28 Røiraas, 16 Røiseland

41 Skaaleneset, 38 Skogen, 20 Slottet, 12 Solaas, 40 Solkroen, 5 Spikkeland, 23 Stokkaasen

15 Vatneli

6 Øveland

Finsland farm names:

Anfinsen, Apåsland, Aust Der, Austegarden, Austre Djupesland

Bakken, Bergstøl, Bjåholen, Brandsvoll, Breivoll, Brotan

Djepesland, Dyble, Døynestøl, Dåstøl

Eftestad, Eikeli, Espeland, Esperås

Finsland, Fjeldskå, Fladan, Fleskåsen, Fløystøl, Foldal, Follerås, Fonsland, Framhald, Fringstad

Gamlejordet, Garstø, Grindland, Grostøl

Hagen, Harbakk, Haugebrokka, Haugedal, Haugen, Haugenes, Hauglund, Heddan, Heggland, Heime Der, Heimegarden, Heimly, Heimstad, Heivold, Heiå, Helland, Holan, Hæråsen, Hønemyr

Jensefjellet

Kalshola, Karten, Kilen, Kimestad, Kjeåsen, Kleveland, Krogen, Krona, Kveddan, Kyrkjehei

Lausland, Leipsland, Lian, Lillestrætet, Lunden

Manflå, Meir, Mo, Monen, Myran, Myrstad, Myrvang, Mæsel

Neregarden, Nesheim, Nord Der, Nordjordet, Nordli, Nordskogen

Ofre, Oppe Der

Paradis, Pigestøl, Plasset

Reivollen, Rekevik, Rismonen, Ryddjordet, Røyrås, Røysland

Sandstad, Sedvoldmyra, Seljetun, Skallan, Skinnsnes, Skogen, Skogly, Skrubbevollen, Skålenes, Slotte, Solbakken, Solheim, Solkro, Solli, Solås, Skikkeland, Stein, Stokkåsen, Stomnåsen, Stronnan, Svigemyr, Svingen, Sølvsmen

Trøan

Ute Der

Vatneli, Vestgarden, Vollan, Vollen

Ytre Mæsel, Ytregarden

Øvland, Øvregarden, Øygard

Ålkjerås, Åmdal, Åmsland, Årebakken, Åsvik

Probate Records

Mandal judicial district
*1667-1887 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Kristianstad deanery
*1771-1810 Family History Library
*1771-1810 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names