To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Finchley Holy Trinity, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Finchley Holy Trinity

Guide to Finchley Holy Trinity, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Finchley Holy Trinity, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Barnet
Registration District Barnet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1872
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Holy Trinity Church Lane, Finchley was a district church erected to ease the population burden at St Mary's Church End. Thischapel lies within thecivil parish boundaries of St Mary's and began to function in the year 1846.[1]

At... [the]] East End [of Finchley]] is a church dedicated to the Trinity, the first stone of which was laid by...in October, 1845; it has a bell-turret surmounted by a spire rising eighty feet above the ground¹.

Holy Trinity is a vicarage, in the diocese of -London-value of the rectory, £417;* of the vicarage, £150.* Patron of both, [St Mary's, the ancient parish, and H. Trinity, who is] the Bishop of London. The parish church is Norman. Holy Trinity church was built in 1846².

1. Samuel A. Lewis, [1]A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 235-238.

2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Finchley Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Finchley Holy Trinity Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Finchley on Genuki

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 235-238. Adapted. Date accessed: 4 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk