Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Fillmore County
 

Guide to Fillmore County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Geneva
Organized: January 26, 1856
Parent County(s): unorganized territory[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clay  • Hamilton  • Jefferson  • Nuckolls  • Saline  • Seward  • Thayer  • York
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaFillmoreCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Fillmore County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

Fillmore County is located about 24 miles north of the southern border of the state, and 96 miles west of the Missouri River. The county was named for the President Millard Fillmore. [2] Fully organized in 1871.[3]

County Courthouse

Fillmore County Courthouse
900 G Street, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 66
Geneva, NE 68361-0066
Phone: 402-759-3514
Fillmore County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1872 and delayed birth records.
County Court has probate and court records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Superintendent of Schools has school census. [1]

Fillmore County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1871 1871 1871 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Fillmore County, Nebraska:[5]

City

  • Geneva

Villages

  • Exeter
  • Fairmont
  • Grafton
  • Milligan
  • Ohiowa
  • Shickley
  • Strang

Unincorporated communities

  • Burress
  • Carlisle
  • Martland

Townships

  • Belle Prairie
  • Bennett
  • Bryant
  • Chelsea
  • Exeter-Fairmont
  • Franklin
  • Geneva
  • Glengary
  • Grafton
  • Hamilton
  • Liberty
  • Madison
  • Momence
  • Stanton
  • West Blue

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fillmore County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 238
1880 10,204 4187.4%
1890 16,022 57.0%
1900 15,087 −5.8%
1910 14,674 −2.7%
1920 13,671 −6.8%
1930 12,971 −5.1%
1940 11,417 −12.0%
1950 9,610 −15.8%
1960 9,425 −1.9%
1970 8,137 −13.7%
1980 7,920 −2.7%
1990 7,103 −10.3%
2000 6,634 −6.6%
2010 5,890 −11.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Census Records

For tips on accessing Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Chapter X of Johnson's History of Nebraska (1880) relates the growth and development of the state's most prevalent religious denominations: Presbyterian, Congregational, Methodist Episcopal, Episcopal, Catholic, Lutheran, Baptist, Unitarian, Christian.

The Fillmore County section of Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska (1882) gives more specific information regarding religious development in the county.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fillmore County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nefillmore.png

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Fillmore - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

The Fillmore County portion of NEGenWeb has posted many indexed marriage records from Fillmore County, and they are adding more as time allows.

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Fillmore County Genealogical Society
    307 Road T
    Exeter, NE 68351
    Phone: 402-266-8881
  • Fillmore County Historical Society
    633 North 11th
    Geneva, NE 68361
  • Fillmore County Historical Society Fillmore County Museum
    600 6th Ave
    Fairmont, NE 68354
    Phone: 402-268-3341; 402-759-0597;
    402-268-2031; 402-268-6081; 402-268-3831

Websites

  • NEGenWeb
  • USGenWeb
  • Linkpendium has a great collection of links to many sites with information regarding Fillmore County and the people who lived there (for example, an online copy of the 1891 Nebraska Gazetteer, biographies of prominent locals, land records, maps, histories, etc.).
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/fillmore/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fillmore_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Fillmore County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fillmore_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.