Fillmore County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Fillmore County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Fillmore County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||March 1853, 1853|
|Address|| Fillmore County Courthouse|
101 Fillmore Street
Preston, MN 55965
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for Millard Fillmore, thirteenth President of the United States. The County is located in the southeast area of the state. 
Fillmore County, Minnesota Record Dates
County Administrator has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1865, divorce and court records
from 1885and probate records from 1858.
County Recorder has land records. 
- 1853--Fillmore County was created 5 March 1853 from Wabasha County. County seat: Preston 
- For a brief history of how Fillmore County was named, click here. Then select Fillmore County.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Amherst Township | Arendahl Township | Beaver Township | Bloomfield Township | Bristol Township | Canton| Township | Carimona Township | Carrolton Township | Chatfield Township | Fillmore Township | Forestville Township | Fountain Township | Harmony Township | Holt Township | Jordan Township | Newburg Township | Norway Township | Pilot Mound Township | Preble Township | Preston Township | Spring Valley Township | Sumner Township
Forestville | Prosper
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Bloomfield Lutheran Church, Ostrander
- Records of Bloomfield Lutheran Church, Ostrander, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of American Lutheran Church, Fillmore County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
First Lutheran Church, Whalan
- Records of First Lutheran Church, Whalan, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Greenfield Lutheran Church, Harmony
- Records of Greenfield Lutheran Church, Harmony, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Henrytown Lutheran Church, Canton
- Records of the Henrytown Lutheran Church, Canton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Highland Prairie Lutheran Church, Peterson
- Records of Highland Prairie Lutheran Church, Peterson, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of the Lutheran Church, Mabel, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of Ostrander Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of American Lutheran Church, Rushford, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of American Lutheran Church, Spring Valley, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Emigration and Immigration
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Fillmore – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local histories are available for Fillmore County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Civil War service men from Fillmore County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fillmore County.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies F and I.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company D.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company A.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- - 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- - 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- - 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- - 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- - 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- - 11th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
- - 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K.
- - Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fillmore County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Online Probate Records
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.
Societies and Libraries
Fillmore County Historical Society
Route 1, Box 81-D
Fillmore County History Center and Genealogy Library
202 County Rd 8
Fountain MN 55935
Harmony Area Historical Society
PO Box 291
15 2nd Street NW
Harmony, MN 55939
Preston Historical Society
PO Box 138
Preston MN 55965
Rushford Area Historical Society
403 East North St.
Rushford, MN 55971
Spring Valley Community Historical Society
220 W Courtland St
Spring Valley MN 55975-1232
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Fillmore County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Fillmore County GenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Fillmore County
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fillmore County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fillmore_County,_Minnesota accessed 12 Nov 2018
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fillmore County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.