Fersfield, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Fersfield, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Guiltcross|
|Parish registers: 1565|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FERSFIELD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Guiltcross, hundred of Diss, E. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (W. N. W.) from Diss. 
Fersfield St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Redenhall deanery of the diocese of Norwich. Fersfield has been variously recorded as Fersevella, Fervessella, Ferefeud, Fairfeud, Fairvill, and Fersfell, all which seem to signify a Fair Fee, or Village. The village was recorded in the Domesday Book under Fersfield, however.
The church is dedicated to Saint Andrew, and dates back, at least in part, to the 12th century. It holds a plain Norman font and a painted wooden effigy of Robert du Bois.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Guiltcross 1837-1902
- Depwade 1902-1935
- Bressingham 1935-1974
Church records[edit | edit source]
Fersfield, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Fersfield, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 144/ 1-7, 115-118
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1811
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526814 Item 10
[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Fersfield on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- Upper Waveney Benefice
- British history online
- Fersfield Norfolk Churches website
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 230-232. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.