Fenton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fenton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fenton, Lincolnshire
Fenton All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Fenton All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; For more records see Beckingham
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

FENTON, a township, in the parish of Kettlethorpe, union of Gainsborough, wapentake of Well, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 9¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Lincoln. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Church records[edit | edit source]

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Fenton Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fenton

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Fenton Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fenton

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Fenton/


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 230-232. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.