Fen Drayton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Fen Drayton

Guide to Fen Drayton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fen Drayton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Papworth
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union St Ives
Registration District St Ives
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bourn
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

DRAYTON, FEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of St. Ives, hundred of Papworth, county of Cambridge, 3¾ miles (S. E. by S.) from St. Ives.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Fen-Drayton, 1574-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Fen-Drayton, 1599-1861 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Fen Drayton on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 88-91. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
Return to Cambridgeshire Parishes