Felkirk, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Felkirk, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
West Riding of Yorkshire
Felkirk

Guide to Felkirk, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Felkirk, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hemsworth
Registration District Hemsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1701
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

FELKIRK (St. Peter), a parish, in the wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 6¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Barnsley; containing with the townships of Brierley, Havercroft with Cold Hiendley, South Hiendley, and Shafton, 1186 inhabitants. [1]

The parish includes the townships of Brierly, Hiendley, Havercroft, Shafton, Cold Hiendley and Grimethorpe and the church is dedicated to St Peters. GENUKI

The word Felkirk is believed to derive from the original wooden church built by Danish Saxons in the 9th Century from the work Fjol Kirche, Fjol meaning a plank or a board or split logs of wood which over many centuries became corrupted into fel, with Kirche meaning church. An alternative explanation would be Field Church based on the fact its in the middle of nowhere but the former is generally believed to be most likely due to the use of the 3 field system. There is no actual town or village by the name of Felkirk.

The current stone church at Felkirk is believed to be the first church built in the north after the Harrying of the North by the William the Conqueror (1069/70). An exact date is not given but is believed to be towards the end of the 11th century by the Norman Lord Ilbert de laci. Various extensions have been built over the centuries and the church still serves the surrounding community despite the surrounding villages now having their own churches.

The school room also built on the same site was built in 1580 and has recently been refurbished to a high quality.

Much more detail can be found on the Brierly Village website.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Felkirk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = West Yorkshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Felkirk Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


ANC 1 1512-1812
1512-1812
1512-1812
ANC 2 1813-1910
1813-1935
1813-1985
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1541-1995
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Yorkshire Archive Service.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk