To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Felixkirk, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Felixkirk, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Felixkirk, Yorkshire
St Felix Felixkirk Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birdforth
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk
Registration District Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1598
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598; Separate records exist for Felixkirk Holy Trinity beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bulmer
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

FELIX-KIRK (St. Felix), a parish, in the union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Thirsk; comprising the townships of Boltby, Felix-Kirk, Sutton-under-WhitestoneCliffe, and Thirlby; and containing 931 inhabitants, of whom 119 are in the township of Felix-Kirk. [1]


Felixkirk with Boltby is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Boldby, Boltby, Felixkirk Holy Trinity, Whitestone Cote, Sutton under Whitstone Cliffe, Thirlby, and Sutton under Whitestone Cliffe.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Felixkirk like this:

FELISKIRK, or Felixkirk, a township and a parish in Thirsk district, N. R. Yorkshire. The township lies under the Hambleton hills, 3¾ miles NE of Thirsk r. station. Acres, 1, 170. Real property, £1, 561. Pop., 111. Houses, 21. The parish contains also the townships of Thirlby, Boltby, and Sutton-under-Whitstone-Cliffe; and its post town is Thirsk. Acres, 8, 381. Real property, £10, 466. Pop., 878. Houses, 193. The property is divided among a few. Mount St. John here, now belonging to the Elsley family, was anciently the site of a preceptory of the Knights of St. John. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of York. Value, £450. Patron, the Archbishop of York. The church was almost entirely rebuilt in 1860; and was constructed on the model of the previous church, which had a Norman chancel and an early English nave. There are chapels for Independents and Wesleyans.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Felixkirk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Yorkshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Yorkshire Bishop's Transcripts of Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Yorkshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Yorkshire, Archbishop Of York Marriage Licences Index, 1613-1839 (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Felixkirk Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-2000
1534-1942
1537-2016
FMP BTs 1558-1914
1558-1899
1560-1919
FMP Banns

1600-1932


FMP Marr

1613-1839


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2005
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 225-228. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk