Federal Dependencies, Venezuela Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Federal Dependency)
Jump to: navigation, search
Venezuela Wiki Topics
Flag of Venezuela.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Venezuela Background
Local Research Resources
Venezuela
State of Federal Dependencies

Guide to State of Federal Dependencies family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

State of Federal Dependencies

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

  • "The Federal Dependencies of Venezuela encompass most of Venezuela's off shore islands in the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Venezuela, excluding those islands which form the State of Nueva Esparta. These islands, with a total area of 342 square kilometres, are sparsely populated - according to the preliminary results of the 2011 Census only 2,155 people live there permanently, with another hundred from Isla Margarita who live there seasonally to engage in fishing. "
  • "The federal dependencies are composed of 600 islands and smaller formations; many have an area of less than 10,000 square metres and are essentially simple rocks. The largest island, La Tortuga, accounts for almost half of the territory of the federal dependencies." -- Wikipedia

Principal Islands and Groups

These are set out below:

  • Archipiélago Los Monjes
  • La Tortuga Island
  • La Sola Island
  • Los Testigos Islands
  • Islas Los Frailes
  • Patos Island
  • Los Roques Archipelago
  • Blanquilla Island
  • Los Hermanos Archipelago
  • La Orchila|Orchila Island
  • Las Aves Archipelago
  • Isla Aves