Fayette County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Fayette County

Guide to Fayette County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fayetteville
Organized: February 28, 1831
Parent County(s): Greenbrier, Kanawha, Nicholas, Logan[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clay  • Greenbrier  • Kanawha  • Nicholas  • Raleigh  • Summers
See County Maps
Courthouse
Fayette County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-fayette.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Marquis de Lafayette

The County was named for Marquis de la Fayette. The County has Fayetteville as its seat and the County was created February 28, 1831. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Fayette County Courthouse
100 Church Street
Fayette, WV 25840
Phone: 304-574-1200
Fayette County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1866; marriage, probate and land records from 1831.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and county records.[3]

Fayette County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1866 1831 1866 1831 1831 1831 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

There are undocumented gaps in several sets of records throughout the 1800s, and particularly between roughly 1890 and 1915.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fayette County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Fayette census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 3,924
1850 3,955 0.8%
1860 5,997 51.6%
1870 6,647 10.8%
1880 11,560 73.9%
1890 20,542 77.7%
1900 31,987 55.7%
1910 51,903 62.3%
1920 60,377 16.3%
1930 72,050 19.3%
1940 80,628 11.9%
1950 82,443 2.3%
1960 61,731 −25.1%
1970 49,332 −20.1%
1980 57,863 17.3%
1990 47,952 −17.1%
2000 47,579 −0.8%
2010 46,039 −3.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fayette County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Kanawha CountyClay CountyNicholas CountyGreenbrier CountySummers CountyRaleigh CountyWV FAYETTE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Fayette County on page 134.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Fayette served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County:

Confederate

- 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I (Kanawha Rangers).[7]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company B (Mountain Cove Guards) and Company C (Fayetteville Rifles).[8]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F1 (Jackson Avengers, Dixie Rifles).[9]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company C (The Dixie Rifles).[10]

Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[11]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Genealogical Society of Fayette and Raleigh Counties, Inc.
    P O Box 68
    Oak Hill, WV 25901-0068

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 30 June 2018.
  7. Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
  8. Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
  9. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  10. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.
  11. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Fayette_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=3403544"