Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Indiana
Fayette County

Guide to Fayette County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Fayette County, Indiana
Map
Map of Indiana highlighting Fayette County
Location in the state of Indiana
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 28, 1818
County Seat Connersville
Courthouse
Address Fayette County Courthouse
401 N Central Ave; PO Box 607
Connersville, IN 47331-0607
Ph. 765.825.1813
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1883*
1819*
1829*
1816
1819
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed in 2 December 1818 from Franklin, Wayne and unorganized territory. [1]
  • County Seat: Connersville  [2]

Description

The county was named for Marquis de la Fayette. It's county seat is Connersville and was founded 1819. It is located in the East central area of the state.[3]

Neighboring Counties

Henry  • Wayne  • Union  • Franklin  • Rush


Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Marquis de Lafayette

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834).[4]


Barrows, Frederick Irving, History of Fayette County, Indiana :(Indianapolis, Ind. : B.F. Bowen) her people, industries and institutions, with biographical sketches of representative citizens and genealogical records of many of the old families, 977.2623 H2b FHL Collection INTERNET ARCHIVE web site

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information.



  • Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana. (Indianapolis, Ind: Frederic Luther Co, 1980).977.26 H2b  977.26 H2b v. 2 FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection  other libraries    vol. 1 INTERNET ARCHIVE

For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Indiana Local Histories.


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County

Civil War Book

Barrows, Frederick Irving, Chapter 10, "Military Annals," History of Fayette County, Indiana :(Indianapolis, Ind. : B.F. Bowen),  page 301-323, 977.2623 H2b FHL Collection Iniernet Archive 

World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

Courthouse

Fayette County Courthouse
401 N Central Ave; PO Box 607
Connersville, IN 47331-0607
Ph. 765.825.1813

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court
records from 1819 and naturalization records from 1924. [5]

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Whitewater Valley Genealogical Association
PO Box 941
Connersville, IN 47331
E-mail: wvgenealogy@gmail.com
Website

Historic Connersville
PO Box 197
Connersville, IN 47331-0197
Telephone Number: 765-825-1281

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the family history center directory.

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy County Clerk with divorce records located with the Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Websites

Places

References

  1. Ancestry.com wiki contributors, "Adams County, Ohio" in Ancestry.com: Wiki at http://www.ancestry.com/wiki/index.php?title=Monroe _County,_Ohio (accessed 4 August 2012).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Indiana 3/28/2017.
  4. "Fayette County, Indiana," Wikipedia.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elkhart County, Indiana 212 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.