Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Fayette County

Guide to Fayette County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Fayetteville
Organized: May 15, 1821
Parent County(s): Creek Indian lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clayton  • Coweta  • Fulton  • Spalding
See County Maps
Courthouse
Fayette+County+GA+courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Fayette County Map.png
Adoption
Marquis de Lafayette

County Information

Description

The County was named for Marquis de Lafayette. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Fayette County Courthouse
200 Courthouse Square
Fayetteville, GA 30214-2198
Phone: 770-461-6041
Fayette County Website

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[3]

Fayette county's original courthouse was built in 1825 and is the oldest standing courthouse in Georgia. It is located at the intersections of GA Highways 85 and 54, "on the Square." former Fayette Courthouse History

Fayette County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1823 1919 1823 1823 1823 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

1983 On April 11, 1983 the upper floors of the Courthouse at Fayetteville burned, but no records were harmed in the vault in the basement.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1821 Fayette County was created 15 May 1821 from Creek Indian lands.
  • County seat: Fayetteville[6]

Several neighboring counties were created in part from Fayette County lands: DeKalb (1822), Campbell (1828 - consolidated with Fulton County in 1932), Spalding (1851) and Clayton (1858).
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Fayette County, Georgia:

  • Brooks
  • Peachtree City
  • Tyrone
  • Woolsey

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fayette, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Fayette County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Baptist
Fayetteville Baptist Church

  • 1903 Fayetteville Baptist Church Baptism Index 1903. Batch C712801 at FamilySearch

Methodist
Fayetteville Methodist Church

  • 1869-1885 Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch C712811 at FamilySearch
  • 1869-1895 Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1895. Batch M712811 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Early deeds are available online at Fayette Clerk. On the left under the Main Menu click Property Index Search. Under Disclaimer select "Click to Accept the Disclaimer and Proceed to the Website". From the top menu select "Online Index Books". Search the Grantor/Grantee Index, or enter the book and page number on the right hand side under "Search Record Book".

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Fulton CountyClayton CountyHenry CountySpalding CountyCoweta CountyGA FAYETTE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County:

- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C


  • Fayette County Historical Society, and Carolyn C. Cary. 1977. The history of Fayette County, 1821-1971. [Fayetteville, Ga.]: Fayette County Historical Society. (page 344,350,354,356,359,362,365,371)975.8426 H2h, Film 1036079 item 7
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Fayette County). 1960. Pension 1861-1949, and, Soldiers' roll 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 209420


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

The Georgia Archives has a few death certificates from 1919 through 1927. The collection also includes a number of certificates from 1914-1918, with the bulk dating from 1917 and 1918. Georgia Death Certificates - Georgia's Virtual Vault

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Georgia Archives
    Georgia's Virtual Vault
    University System of Georgia
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • The Fayette County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 421
    195 Lee Street
    Fayetteville, GA 30214
    Phone: 770-461-9270
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 31. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.