Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fayette County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Fayette County
Fayette County GA Courthouse

Guide to Fayette County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Fayette County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Fayette County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded May 15, 1821
County Seat Fayetteville
Courthouse
[[Image:

|center|200px]]
Address Fayette County Courthouse
200 Courthouse Square
Fayetteville, GA 30214-2198
Phone: 770.461.6041
Fayette County Website



County Information

Fayette County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1823 1830 1823 1823


County Courthouse

Fayette County Courthouse
200 Courthouse Square
Fayetteville, GA 30214-2198
Phone: 770.461.6041
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records. [1]

Clerk of Superior Court
One Center Drive
P.O. Box 130
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Telephone: (770) 716-4290
Fax: (770) 716-4868

Probate Court of Fayette County
One Center Drive NE
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Work Phone: 770-716-4220
Fax: 770-716-4854

Fayette county's original courthouse was built in 1825 and is the oldest standing courthouse in Georgia. It is located at the intersections of GA Highways 85 and 54, "on the Square." Read more about it here: former Fayette Courthouse History

History

Marquis de Lafayette.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834).[2]

Parent County

1821--Fayette County was created 15 May 1821 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Fayetteville [3]

Boundary Changes

Several neighboring counties were created in part from Fayette County lands: DeKalb (1822), Campbell (1828 - consolidated with Fulton County in 1932), Spalding (1851) and Clayton (1858). For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1983 -- 11 April 1983 the upper floors of the Courthouse at Fayetteville burned, but the no records were harmed in the vault in the basement.[4]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

The main cities and towns in Fayette county are Brooks, Fayetteville (county seat) Peachtree City, Tyrone and Woolsey.

Neighboring Counties

Clayton County  • Coweta County  • Fulton County  • Spalding County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fayette, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Fayette County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

Fayetteville Baptist Church

  • 1903 - Fayetteville Baptist Church Baptism Index 1903. Batch C712801 at FamilySearch - free.
Methodist

Fayetteville Methodist Church

  • 1869-1885 - Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch C712811 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1869-1895 - Fayetteville Methodist Church Marriage Index 1869-1895. Batch M712811 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Deeds - Early deeds are available online at Fayette Clerk On the left under the Main Menu click Property Index Search. Under Disclaimer select "CLICK TO ACCEPT THE DISCLAIMER AND PROCEED TO THE WEBSITE" From the top menu select "Online Index Books". You can search the Grantor/Grantee Index first or if you know the book and page number you can enter that on the right hand side under "Search Record Book".

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gafayette.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy:


- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Fayette County Historical Society, and Carolyn C. Cary. 1977. The history of Fayette County, 1821-1971. [Fayetteville, Ga.]: Fayette County Historical Society. (page 344,350,354,356,359,362,365,371)  975.8426 H2h, Film 1036079 item 7
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Fayette County). 1960. Pension 1861-1949, and, Soldiers' roll 1861-1865. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 209420


Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
The Georgia Archives has a few "Georgia Death Certificates from 1919 through 1927. The collection also includes a number of certificates from 1914-1918, with the bulk dating from 1917 and 1918.

The Georgia Archives would like to thank the Genealogical Society of Utah for their partnership in scanning and indexing these records." Search them here: Georgia Death Certificates - Georgia's Virtual Vault


The Georgia Archives maintains a "Virtual Vault" of digitized records. They can be found here: Georgia Archives

Vital Record Substitutes

Because Georgia did not require statewide recording of birth records until 1919, the WWI and WWII Draft Registration cards are an excellent alternative for men born between the years 1886 and 1896 for the WWI draft and 1877 and 1900 for the WWII "Old Man's Draft."

Search the WWI Draft here: United States World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918

The WWII draft cards are available at ancestry.com - U.S., World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 - Search $ and at fold3.com - Search WWII "Old Man's Draft" Registration Cards at Fold3 $

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

The Fayette County Historical Society is an active organization in Fayetteville. You can learn more about them here: Fayette Historical Society


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

There are two LDS Family History Centers near Fayette County, Georgia:

The Jonesboro Family History Center:

Jonesboro Georgia Family History Center

The Newnan Family History Center:

Newnan Georgia_Family History Center


Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Fayette County, Georgia," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 31. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.