Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fayette County, Alabama)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Alabama
Fayette County

Guide to Fayette County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Fayette County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 20 December, 1824
County Seat Fayette
Courthouse
Fayette County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Fayette County Courthouse]
103 1st Avenue NE
Fayette, AL 35555
Phone: (205) 932-4617 Fayette County Website


County Information

Fayette County, Alabama Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1884 1866 1899 1830 1824 1851

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has birth records 1884-1941, death records
1899-1941
marriage records from 1866, land records from 1848
and military discharge records from 1919[2]

Description

The County was named for Marquis de Lafayette. The County has Fayette as its seat and the County was created December 20, 1824. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

History

Marquis de Lafayette

The county is named after Revolutionary War hero, the Marquis de Lafayette (1757-1834).[4]

Parent County

1824--Fayette County was created 20 December 1824 from Marion, Pickens, and Tuscaloosa Counties.
County seat: Fayette [5]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1866 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.


Fire.png
1911--Fayette County Courthouse and much of the business section of Fayette destroyed by fire on March 24, 1911.  Many county records lost. [6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Alfayette.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1022.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Fayette, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Fayette county cemeteries.

Census

Fayette County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820
1830 3,547
1840 6,942 95.7%
1850 9,681 39.5%
1860 12,850 32.7%
1870 7,136 −44.5%
1880 10,135 42.0%
1890 12,823 26.5%
1900 14,132 10.2%
1910 16,248 15.0%
1920 18,365 13.0%
1930 18,443 0.4%
1940 21,651 17.4%
1950 19,388 −10.5%
1960 16,148 −16.7%
1970 16,252 0.6%
1980 18,809 15.7%
1990 17,962 −4.5%
2000 18,495 3.0%
2010 17,241 −6.8%
For tips on accessing Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.

State Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Fayette County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.187 E7bg.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Fayette County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Fayette County.

- 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 26th Regiment, Alabama Infantry (O'Neal's), Company A, B, C, D, E, I and K
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G, formerly Company K, 38th TN Infantry
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I, formerly Company H, 38th TN Infantry
- 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B

Online Records

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Fayette County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Fayette County is in District 3.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1899-1912 - Fayette County Birth Index 1899-1912. Batch C547543 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1827, 1850–1851, 1858, 1860, 1864–1903, 1906, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1866–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1899-1912 - Fayette County Death Index 1899-1912. Batch B547542 at FamilySearch - free.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Fayette County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Fayette County Historical Society
P. O. Box 309
Fayette, AL
35555
205-932-3255

Fayette Fayette County Memorial Library
205-932-6625
Fayette County Memorial Library Website

Libraries

Fayette County Memorial Library
326 Temple Avenue North
Fayette, Alabama 35555
Telephone: 205-932-6625

The Evelyn W. Robertson Genealogy Room holds local history materials.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centre Locator

Helpful Websites

Fayette County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Fayette County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fayette County p. 37. ; .
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Fayette, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fayette_County,_Alabama 06/05/2017.
  4. "Fayette County, Alabama," Wikipedia.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. GenDisasters.com - Fayette, AL Courthouse and Business Section Fire, Mar 1911 http://www3.gendisasters.com/alabama/10146/fayette-al-courthouse-business-section-fire-mar-1911
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.