To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Faroe Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Faroe Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the Faroe Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Faroe Islands Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Faroe Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

The Faroe Islands is an island group, an integral part of Denmark, in the Atlantic Ocean. It was formerly ruled by Norway, Germany and England.
[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Faroe Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with Faroe Islands research.

Faroe Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Faroe Islands research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Faroe Islands Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Faroe Islands.

Faroe Islands map.png

Districts[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Faroe Islands. Districts:

  • Eysturoy
  • Norðoyar
  • Sandoy
  • Streymoy
  • Suðuroy
  • Vágar

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]