Faroe Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Faroe Islands)
Jump to: navigation, search
Faroe Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the Faroe Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Faroe Islands Background
Local Research Resources
Europe
Denmark
Faroe Islands
Guide to Faroe Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Faroe Islands is an island group, an integral part of Denmark, in the Atlantic Ocean. It was formerly ruled by Norway, Germany, and Great Britain. The official languages are Faroese and Danish.[1][2]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Faroe Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with Faroe Islands research.

Faroe Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Faroe Islands research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Faroe Islands Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Faroe Islands.

Faroe Islands map.png

Districts

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Faroe Islands. Districts:

  • Eysturoy
  • Norðoyar
  • Sandoy
  • Streymoy
  • Suðuroy
  • Vágar

Census Records

Church Records

Probate Records

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Faeroe Islands,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1990-2000.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Faroe Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faroe_Islands, accessed 2 May 2016.