Farmington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Farmington, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Farmington

Guide to Farmington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Farmington, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Northleach
Registration District Northleach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1617
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Northleach
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

FARMINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Northleach, hundred of Bradley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (E. N. E.) from Northleach. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Farmington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
Farmington, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1753 1613-1753 1613-1812, 1912-1913 1613-1812, 1912-1913
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1936 1754-1936 1813-1869 1813-1869
FHSO 1800-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 213-216. Date accessed: 03 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.