Faribault Minnesota Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and Events
- 3 Center Resources
- 4 Family Tree
- 5 FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training
- 6 Center Services
- 7 Resources in the Local Area
- 8 Resources Outside Local Area
- 9 Links
- 10 National Links
- 11 Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources
- 12 Temple and Family History Consultant Resources and Help
- 13 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 1002 17th St SW, Faribault, MN 55201-5520
- Language: English
- Tuesday: 9:00am-12:00pm
- Wednesday: 6:00pm-8:00pm
- Friday:(2nd and 4th): 6:00pm-9:00pm
- Call 507-663-0212 for appointment other than above times.
Closed all major holidays.
Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]
Class Schedule[edit | edit source]
Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection: --
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- 19th Centry British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
- Access Newspaper Archive
- Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
- ArkivDigital Online - Swedish Genealogy
- Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com)
- The Genealogist
- Godfrey Memorial Library
- Heritage Quest Online
- Historic Map Works Library Edition
- Paper Trail
- World Vital Records
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- computer, microfilm reader, printer
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
Family Tree [edit | edit source]
Family Tree Training[edit | edit source]
Introduction to FamilySearch Tree:[edit | edit source]
FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training[edit | edit source]
Online Forms[edit | edit source]
Online Training Courses[edit | edit source]
Online Research Training Videos[edit | edit source]
The following list is just a sampling of many of the ResearchTraining Videos that are available from the above link at the Learning Center Home page.
- United States
Online Training Videos[edit | edit source]
- 5 Minute Genealogy Videos Series. This video series is all about helping you quickly discover your family history. Each episode will guide you through basic research principles that will help you have success finding your ancestors.
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Provide 1-on-1 family history training, assistance and support
Offer Family History classes
Provide other family history resources and materials
Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]
Resources Outside Local Area[edit | edit source]
Links[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You!: A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.
National Links[edit | edit source]
Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources[edit | edit source]
Temple and Family History Consultant Resources and Help[edit | edit source]
New Temple and Family History Consultants have a variety of resources available to them on lds.org to support them in the responsibilities of their calling.
Additional Resources are also available to support ongoing efforts - Training Summary and Resources available on lds.org
Resources and information for individuals and families you are working with are also available for use through churchofjesuschrist.org.
Family Search Blog[edit | edit source]
A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog
Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)[edit | edit source]
Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts. So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.
- The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found
- It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
- The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
- Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
- Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki.”
Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!
Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?
- Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
*(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
*How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
*About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki
Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets[edit | edit source]
Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster[edit | edit source]
Unreserved Reservations after Two Years[edit | edit source]
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
Would you like to learn more about Family History? Those who serve always learn the most!