Fareham Holy Trinity, Hampshire Genealogy
|Fareham Holy Trinity, Hampshire|
|Poor Law Union||Fareham|
|Parish registers: 1836|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1837|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Fareham with Catisfield and Dean; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FAREHAM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Fareham, S. division of the county of Southampton, 12 miles (E. S. E.) from Southampton, and 73 (S. W.) from London, on the road from Southampton to Portsmouth. A district church in the English style, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, has been built and endowed by the Rev. Sir Henry Thompson, Bart. The Independents and Wesleyans have each a place of worship..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Fareham Holy Trinity, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FAREHAM HOLY TRINITY PARISH Online Records|
Fareham St Peter and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FAREHAM ST PETER AND ST PAUL PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 209-213. Date accessed: 14 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.