To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject England Parish Tables: Oxfordshire Part 1

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Project Leader[edit | edit source]

Becca Curtis

Purpose[edit | edit source]

To fix the outdated tables on each parish page in Oxfordshire, England. These tables contain many broken links, are missing important databases, or list databases that are not very useful in finding vital records in England. The first part of this project will be deleting the old table and pasting the new code.

Task List[edit | edit source]

Task List

Instructions[edit | edit source]

1. Go to the parish page (links are on the Task List) and find the "Church records" heading. Click "Edit source" next to the heading.

The top of this section has this heading: ====Church records====



2. Delete everything after the "Church records" heading.

NOTE: If there is a =====Non Conformist Churches===== heading near the bottom of the section, just delete everything between the "Church records" and "Non Conformist Church" headings.


Example of what the code may look like:
Oxfordshire Part 1 Img 1.png



3. Paste the following code into the empty space.

PARISH NAME parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

{| cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" style="width: 50%"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/ FamilySearch - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''ANC 1''' = [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61056 Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''ANC 2''' = [https://search.ancestry.com/ Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FMP''' = [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/oxfordshire-marriage-bonds-1634-1849 Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1634-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''BOYD''' = [https://search.findmypast.co.uk/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''IGI''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/igi International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free]<ref>ArcherSoftware.co.uk</ref>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' = [https://www.familysearch.org/catalog/search FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free]
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | '''OFHS''' = [http://searches.oxfordshirefhs.org.uk/ Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($)] Results delivered by email.
|}

{| width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1"
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" align="center" scope="col" colspan="7" | '''PARISH NAME Online Parish Records'''
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Baptisms'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Marriages'''''</center> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" colspan="2" | <center>'''''Burials'''''</center>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" |  
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | Images 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Indexes 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | Images
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | {{RecordSearch|1473014|'''1538-1975'''}}
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | {{RecordSearch|1473015|'''1538-1973'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | {{RecordSearch|1473016|'''1538-1991'''}}
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''ANC 1''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61056 '''1538-1812''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61056 '''1538-1812''']
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61056 '''1538-1812''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''ANC 2''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61057 '''1813-1915''']
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61058 '''1754-1930'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=61059 '''1813-1965''']
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FMP''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.com/search-world-Records/oxfordshire-marriage-bonds-1634-1849 '''1634-1849'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''BOYD''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [https://search.findmypast.co.uk/search-world-Records/england-boyds-marriage-indexes-1538-1850 '''1538-1850'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''IGI''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''FS Catalog BTs''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | 
|-
| bgcolor="#ffffcc" | '''OFHS''' 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | [http://searches.oxfordshirefhs.org.uk/ '''1538-1900s'''] 
| bgcolor="#ffcccc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | [http://searches.oxfordshirefhs.org.uk/ '''1538-1900s'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffcc" | <br> 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | [http://searches.oxfordshirefhs.org.uk/ '''1538-1900s'''] 
| bgcolor="#ccffff" | <br>
|}

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use [http://maps.familysearch.org/ England Jurisdictions 1851 Map]. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.<br><br>

Records are also available at the [https://www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/residents/leisure-and-culture/history/oxfordshire-history-centre Oxfordshire History Centre].



4. Add the actual parish name where it says "PARISH NAME" (found twice near the top of the newly-inserted code). Do not put the parish in all caps. (For example: Abington Piggots not ABINGTON PIGGOTS)

Derbyshire Part 1 Img 2.png


5. Put "Adding more complete online church records table" in the Summary box and then click "Save page."

If More Than 1 Table[edit | edit source]

If there is more than 1 table on the page, make a note in the comments and then leave it. I will go through and add updated church records tables to pages with more than 1 table.

Finished Examples[edit | edit source]

See these wiki pages for a final example of what the table will look like:

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.