FamilySearchWiki:WikiProject United States Civil War/Sandbox:cw52637
United States 
Texas Anderson County
Anderson County, Texas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Anderson County genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records.
| Anderson County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
 Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy | |||||||||
 Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 24, 1846 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Palestine | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
 | |||||||||
| Address | 500 N. Church Street, #10, Palestine, TX 75801 | ||||||||
| Named for: Kenneth L. Anderson, congressman and vice president of the Republic of Texas | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
Introduction[edit | edit source]
Anderson County is in east Texas between the Trinity and Neches rivers. Palestine is the largest town and the county seat. Palestine is about 100 miles southeast of Dallas and about 150 miles north of Houston.[1]
Beginner Helps[edit | edit source]
| Beginner's Corner |
|---|
| The Beginner’s Corner links to information that will help you get started researching your ancestors. Choose from one of the following: |
| I want to find a birth, christening or baptism |
| I want to find a marriage |
| I want to find a death or burial |
| I want to find someone's parents (land and probate records) |
Beginning Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1774 | 1853 | 1800 | 1632 | 1632 |
Start with These[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 2,684 | — |
| 1860 | 10,398 | 287.4% |
| 1870 | 9,229 | −11.2% |
| 1880 | 17,395 | 88.5% |
| 1890 | 20,923 | 20.3% |
| 1900 | 28,015 | 33.9% |
| 1910 | 29,650 | 5.8% |
| 1920 | 34,318 | 15.7% |
| 1930 | 34,643 | 0.9% |
| 1940 | 37,092 | 7.1% |
| 1950 | 31,875 | −14.1% |
| 1960 | 28,162 | −11.6% |
| 1970 | 27,789 | −1.3% |
| 1980 | 38,381 | 38.1% |
| 1980 | 38,381 | 0.0% |
| 1990 | 48,024 | 25.1% |
| 2000 | 55,109 | 14.8% |
| 2010 | 58,458 | 6.1% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Databases
[edit | edit source]
- Anderson County Cemeteries Complete list of cemeteries within Anderson County with partial transcriptions.
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Tennessee Colony Cemetery, Anderson County on BillionGraves site. Just south of FM 321 on CR 2230.
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Texas Land Heritage Registry ~ TXGenWeb
- Land Survey Abstract Indicies ~ TXGenWeb Archives Project
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Selected Wills and Probate Extracts from Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb
- Anderson County Probate Index 1846-1879 ~ TXGenWeb
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
- 1800-1990 - Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection contains images of probate records from seventy-five different counties in the state of Texas. The content and time period of these records vary by county.
- 1800-1990 - Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection contains images of probate records from seventy-five different counties in the state of Texas. The content and time period of these records vary by county.
Then Try These[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Anderson County Courthouse
500 N Church Street
Palestine, TX 75801-3024
Phone: 903.723.7432
District Clerk has divorce records; County Clerk
has birth and death records from 1903, marriage,
probate and land records from 1846 and court records;
cities have birth and death records from 1953[2]
African American Resources[edit | edit source]
- African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Anderson County Churches –List of churches in Anderson County, Texas
- Churches in Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb Archives
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
Court[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for FamilySearchWiki:WikiProject United States Civil War/Sandbox:cw52637. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- A Memorial and Biographical History of Navarro, Henderson, Anderson, Limestone, Freestone and Leon Counties, Texas, 1883. Digital book on line from the Portal to Texas History.
- History of Anderson County
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
Military[edit | edit source]
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as FamilySearchWiki:WikiProject United States Civil War/Sandbox:cw52637 newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Census Diggins 1830-1930
- Do a FamilySearchWiki:WikiProject United States Civil War/Sandbox:cw52637 Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Anderson County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries (Ancestry)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1855 Anderson County Tax List ~ TXGenWeb
- 1876 Anderson County Tax List ~ TXGenWeb
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Palestine Public Library
2000 S. Loop 256
Palestine, TX 75801
Phone: (903) 729-4121
Website
Frankston Depot Library
Town Square S
Frankston, TX 75763
Phone: (903) 876-4463
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1846--Anderson County was created 24 March 1846 from Houston County. County seat: Palestine [3]
The county was named for Kenneth L. Anderson, congressman and vice president of the Republic of Texas.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
| Alzada | Ekalaka |
| Boyes | Hammond |
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
- Butte County, South Dakota
- Crook County, Wyoming
- Custer
- Fallon
- Harding County, South Dakota
- Powder River
Resources[edit | edit source]
- Online Genealogy Resources Anderson County TXGenWeb genealogy resources.
- Anderson County Look-Ups Volunteers for look-up for Anderson County TXGenWeb
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Anderson County ~ TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List ~ Texas
Featured Topics[edit | edit source]
 Southampton County |
 Virginia Census |
 Augusta County Genealogy |
 Virginia Immigration |
 Norborne Parish |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Texas State Historical Society, Anderson County, (accessed 8 May 2013).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anderson County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
 |
This WikiProject is believed to be inactive. If you are not currently a member of the project, please consider joining it to help. This tag may be removed if activity resumes, or if this tag has been placed in error. |
