To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Falnes Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Falnes, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records. Falnes is in the Karmøy Region. Other parishes in this region include Karmøy the parishes of Avaldsnes, Kopervik (Stangeland), Skudenes, Skudeneshavn, Torvastad (Torvestad), Falnes, Ferkingstad and Åkra.

Falnes Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Skudenes
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Skudenes
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Karmsund
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records exist since 1758. Falsnes parish was in Skudenes clerical district as well as Skudeneshavn and Ferkingstad. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Skudenes: 1770-1982

Skudenes / Falnes: 1770-1974

Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person.  A database of this census is available at Digitalarkivet.

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district. Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt at Digitalarkivet.

The 1801 census (b. 39) for Skudenes clerical district includes Skudenes, Falnes, Ferkingstad, Bokn, and Åkra parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling for Schudenæs at Digitalarkivet.

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling for Skudesnæs at Digitalarkivet.

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. 1875-teljinga for Skudenes landdistrikt at Digitalarkivet.

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Skudenæs at Digitalarkivet.

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

1910 Census search at Digitalarkivet


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Karmsund judicial district
*1793-1901 Family History Library
*1793-1901 Digitalarkivet.

Karmsund deanery
*1692-1812 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1692-1812 Digitalarkivet.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Lillehammer, Arvid, "Skudenes og Skudeneshavn", Karmøy: Utgitt av bygdebokutvalget i Karmøy, 1982. 948.31/S12 D2L  FHL INTL Book

Farm Book on the Internet[edit | edit source]

Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.

The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.


You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to slektsforum.karmoy@c2i.net.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

35 Austneberg

51 Beiningen

54 Dale

51 Falnes nedre

39 Grøteim

42 Haaland søndre, 49 Heggeim, 48 Hillesland, 53 Hovdestad, 43 Høines

36 Kirkeleitet, 45 Kuviken

37 Li, 42 Lynghaugen

34 Mjølhus

42 Naleid, 46 Neset

50 Præstegaarden

40 Risdal nedre, 47 Ryggen

44 Selvaag, 52 Skitnedal, 56 Snorteland, 38 Syre

55 Tjøsteim

47 Uren

47 Vik

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names