Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.
|Fairfield County, South Carolina|
Location in the state of South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Fairfield County, South Carolina Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African Americans
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church
- 6.6 Court
- 6.7 DNA
- 6.8 Genealogy
- 6.9 Land
- 6.10 Local Histories
- 6.11 Maps
- 6.12 Military
- 6.13 Newspapers
- 6.14 Periodicals
- 6.15 Probate
- 6.16 Taxation
- 6.17 Vital Records
- 7 Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- 8 Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage
- 9 Family History Centers
- 10 Websites
- 11 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named from a statement made by General Cornwallis when he declared "How Fair These Fields" during the British occupation of the area in 1780-81. The County is located in the north-central area of the state.
Fairfield County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Fairfield County Courthouse
101 S. Congress St.
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Clerk of Court/Register of Deeds
101 S. Congress St.
P.O. Drawer 299
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Court and land records
Fairfield County Probate Court
P.O. Box 385
Winnsboro, SC 29180
Probate and marriage records
History[edit | edit source]
According to tradition, Fairfield County received its name based on a remark made by Lord Cornwallis about the "fair fields" of that area of South Carolina. Learn more about the history of Fairfield County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.
Parent County/Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 1785 - Thirty-three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Fairfield County was created within Camden District.
- 1797 - Richland exchanged with Fairfield County.
- 1800 - Fairfield re-christened a district and Camden District was abolished.
- 1868 - Fairfield and all other districts became counties.
- 1913 - Richland gained from Fairfield and Lexington Counties.
For more information as well as maps of Fairfield County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
County Seat[edit | edit source]
The county seat of Fairfield County is Winnsboro.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Fairfield County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:
- Blink Bonnie
- Cedar Tree - Ridgeway
- Century House
- Davis - Monticello
- Dr. Walter Brice - Douglass
- Fair View - Blair
- Fair View - near Jenkinsville
- Fairoaks - Douglass
- Fonti Flora - Monticello
- High Point
- Ivy Hall - Blair
- Mayfair - Jenkinsville
- Mount Hope - Ridgeway
- Oaks - Blair
- Oaks - Winnsboro
- Roseland - Winnsboro
- Spring Vale - Winnsboro
- Tocaland - Winnsboro
- Valencia - Ridgeway
- White Hall
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|SCGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- To view a cemetery list, see Fairfield County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1829-1920 - South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Fairfield County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1820[edit | edit source]
- Douthat, James L. 1820 Fairfield County, South Carolina Census and Map. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2006. Free Online Surname Index; purchase at Mountain Press.
1820 Manufactures[edit | edit source]
- National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection 973 X2m 1820
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital versions at Google Books. See South Carolina, Fairfield District on page 142.
1850, 1870, 1880[edit | edit source]
- Myer, Lois C. Fairfield County, South Carolina Census, 1850, 1870 and 1880. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL Collection 599049 Item 2
1860[edit | edit source]
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
See also Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Marker at The Historical Marker Database. "Site of five buildings 1897-1986. Enemies of church burned two, tornado destroyed one."
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
DNA[edit | edit source]
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
- [Acker] Acker, E.D. A Brief History of the Acker--Halbert Family: Composed of Biographical Sketches and Descent Diagrams. Lincoln, Ala.: E.D. Acker, 1928. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL Film 1321075 Item 11.
- [Addison] Willhite, A.B. The Descendants of William Addison. Russellville, Ky.: A.B. Willhite, 199?. FHL Book 929.273 Ad47wa.
- [Aiken] Forrester, Pearle Tulpin and Julie E. Tulpin. Descendants of William Aiken: (Akin, Atkin, Adkin, Eakin) and Allied Families. Springfield, Ill.: P.T. Forrester & J.E. Tulpin, 195-. FHL VAULT Film 1435481.
- [Alexander] Sanders, R.S. and Betty Sanders. The Alexanders of Plum Creek: A Genealogical History of Ancestors and Descendants of Joseph Alexander. Weinert, Texas: R.S. Sanders, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 AL26s.
- [Ashford] Ashford, Charlie Rabb. Some of the Ancestors and Descendants of James and George Ashford, Jr. of Fairfield County, South Carolina. 1956. FHL 461285 Item 1; digital version of 1987 edition at Ancestry ($).
- [Blake] Blake Family Records, ca. 1630-1961. MSS. Microfilmed 1997: FHL Film 2055330 Item 1.
- [Bottner] Felder, Paula S. Ludwig Bottner and His Sons, The Beginning of the Boatner Family in America. Fredericksburg, Va.: Historic Publications of Fredericksburg, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 B63fp.
- [Brice] Brice, Laurie Simonton. The Name and Record in Ireland of the Brice Family Whose Descendants First Settled in Fairfield County, South Carolina about 1785. MSS., South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, S.C. Microfilmed 1952. FHL 22794 Item 7
- [Brice] Brice, L.S. The Brice Family Who Settled in Fairfield County, South Carolina about 1785. 1956. FHL 929.273 B761a
- [Brice] Myer, Lois C. Descendants of Dr. Alexander Rosborough and Mary Hemphill in Chester Co., South Carolina: Descendants of James Strong and Elizabeth of Chester Co. South Carolina; Descendants of James Brice and Jane Wilson of Antrim Co. Ireland and Fairfield Co., South Carolina; Descendants of Andrew Hemphill and Isabelle McKeown of Chester Co., South Carolina; Descendants of William Maffatt and Barbara Chesnut of Chester Co. South Carolina; Descendants of James Knox and Elizabeth Craig of Tennessee; Descendants of William Gaston and Miss Lemon of Clough Water, Iresland and Chester Co., South Carolina; More Roseborough and Gaston Family Records. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL 599428
- [Brown] Terrar, Edward. Genealogical Information About the Brown and Related Gibson, Raines, Tompkins, Mann Families: in Blythewood/Doko (Richland/Fairfield, Co.), South Carolina. Silver Spring, Md.: E. Terrar, 1992. FHL 929.273 B812te
- [Buchanan] McMaster, Louise M. Ancestry of the Buchanan Family of Fairfield County, South Carolina. n.p.: L.M. McMaster, 1945. FHL 1206499 Item 23
- [Cameron] Bergevin, Charlotte, Daisy Sundberg, and Evelyn Berg. Camerons, Westward They Came, 1629-1983. 1983. FHL Book 929.273 C146c.
- [Cason] Cason Family Bible Records, ca. 1834-1963. MSS. Microfilmed 1963: FHL Film 376977 Item 2.
- [Castles] Ahart, Barbara Joan Allen. The Descendants of John Castles, 1766-1830, of South Carolina. Canon City, Colo.: B. Ahart, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 C279a.
- [Cheatwood] Stewart, Frank Ross (Mrs.). Cheatwood and Allied Families. Centre, Ala.: Stewart University Press of the Stewart University System, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 C41s.
- [Cleeton] Kent, Doris Bankes. William Cleeton (Born 1725) and His Descendants. Baltimore: Gateway Press, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 C584k.
- [Cockerell] Burgess, James A. Anderson, Cockrill, Moffett, Smith & Allied Families of Northern Virginia. Vol. 1. Chandler, Ariz.: J.A. Burgess, 2002. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL Fiche 6004570.
- [Coleman] Rosson, Etta Coleman and Mrs. J.T. McBryde. Descendants of Robert Coleman and Elizabeth Roe: and Some Other Colemens of Fairfield and Union District, South Carolina. Typescript, National Library, DAR. Microfilmed 1971. FHL 858851 Item 1
- [Crumpton] Crumpton, John Rives. A History of the Family of Thomas Alexander Crumpton in America : A Brief Genealogical Sketch of the Crumpton Family and Their Contributions to the Founding and Growth of Beth-Eden Church and Community of Winston County, Mississippi. Miss.: J.R. Crumpton, 1987?. FHL Book 929.273 C888cj.
- [Dick] Renick, Barbara Ann. The Descendants of John Dick and Wife Margaret Wylie. Brea, Calif.: B.A.Z. Renick, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 D55r.
- [Dickey] Dickey, Grover C. John and Alexander Dickey, Immigrants, 1772. Oklahoma City, Okla.: C.G. Dickey, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 D559b.
- [Elder] Elder, Mary J., Margaret Elder Ratterree et al. Elder Family. Marissa, Ill.: Marissa Historical & Genealogical Society, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 EL22m.
- [Elkins] Andrea, Leonardo. Elkin--Elkins. Typescript, Polk County Historical Society, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975: FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
- [Fant] Sims, Janet Terreson. Ancestors and Descendants of Dr. Abner Elkin Fant, 1816-1883. Hattiesburg, Miss.: J.T. Sims, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 F217s.
- [Ferguson] Ferguson, Herman W. "The Estate Papers of Abraham Ferguson, Ridgeway, South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 24, No. 2 (Spring 1996):69-75. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 24
- [Gibson] Rowland, Jane Thomas. Gibson Family from Fairfield Co. South Carolina and Monroe Co. Georgia: Papers from the Family Files with Rowland/Thomas Connections and Some Ancestors and Descendants of Jane Thomas Rowland and Arthur Ray Rowland. Augusta, Ga.: RR Books, 1998. FHL 929.273 G357gia
- [Gladney] Arnold, Mildred Lee Gladney, Adah Ellse Odom Gilliam, and Tom More Arnold. Gladneys in America. Kennesaw, Ga.: T. Arnold, 1966. FHL Book 929.273 G451am.
- [Gladney] Gladney Family Association. Gladney. 2 vols. Salem, Mass.: Higginson, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 G451gf v. 1 - v. 2.
- [Grafton] Grafton, Ralph L. and William F. Grafton. The Grafton Connection: A Genealogy Collection. Kingsport, Tenn.: Grafton Publications, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 G759gr.
- [Grubbs] Newby, William B. Wallis Family Genealogy. Huntsville, Ala.: W.B. Newby?, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 W158n.
- [Hardy] Hardy Family Bible Records, 1806-1905. MSS. FHL Film 835114 Item 2.
- [Hathcock] Hatchcock, Douglas Wilburn. "John A. Hathcock, Fairfield Co., South Carolina," The Hathcock Family Research Project. MSS., 1991. Copy: FHL Film 1697914 Item 12.
- [Hathorn] Hawthorne, George O. Back Tracking Hathorns, Hawthorns, Hawthornes. Sanford, Fla.: G.O. Hawthorne, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 H318hg.
- [Hill] Hill, George Anderson. Hill & Hill-Moberly Connections of Fairfield County, South Carolina. Ponca City, Okla.: Hill, 1961. FHL 929.273 H555h
- [Jennings] Konde, Alice and Paul M. Crocker. Some Descendants of John Jennings, ca. 1740/45-ca. 1819, of Fairfield and Edgefield Districts, South Carolina. Port St. Lucie, Fla.: A. Konde, 1989. FHL 929.273 J441k
- [Keith] Burrows, Frances Beard. Keith Family of South Carolina. Tucson, Ariz.: FB Pub., 1996. FHL Book 929.273 K269b.
- [Kennedy] Kennedy, Gayle Marie. My Kennedy Ancestors of Fairfield County, South Carolina. Typescript, 1969. FHL 877511 Item 2
- [Lathan] Lathan, William J. The Lathans of South Carolina. Grand Junction, Colo.: W.J. Lathan, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 L346Lw.
- [Lemley] Lemley, J.B. History of Ephraim Lemley and Descendent Families. Russelville, Ark.: J.B. Lemley, 1975. FHL Fiche 6125476. 1985 (3rd) ed.: FHL Fiche 6111295.
- [McClintock] Shelton, A. Louise. Descendants of James (Timothy) McClintock: and Some Related Families-Lawrence, Ribble, Streit (Stright). Hanford, Calif.: A.L. Shelton, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 M132s.
- [McGraw] McGraw Family Records, ca. 1745-1930. Typescript. FHL Film 165998.
- [McKeown] McKeown, Thomas Oneal. The McKeown Clan Family Record, 1736-1974. Columbia, S.C.: T.O. McKeown, Jr., 1974. FHL Book 929.273 M199mt.
- [Mancill] Colson, Lucy O'Gilvia Wiggins. Mancill Family History, 1730-1941: Allied Family, Perkinson. Huntsville, Ala.: L.O.W. Colson, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 M312c; .
- [Mansell] Mansell, Jimmy. Mansell Family Register. Cookeville, Tenn.: J. Mansell, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 M317ma.
- [May] Fuller, Berenice May. Two May Families of Hollow Square, Greene County, Alabama: Including Some May, Windham, Harrison, Dargan Ancestors and Descendants. Selma, Ala.: B.M. Fuller, 1988. FHL Book 929.273 M451f.
- [Mayo] Harter, Mrs. Bert. "James Mayo (1711-1776) of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1963):51-64. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 7 (1963).
- [Means] McBryde, Sara Chappell. Genealogy: Means--Hawthorn--Cook. 1935. FHL Book 929.273 M462ms.
- [Miles] Miles, Ralph J. Family of Thomas Miles. 1988. FHL Book 929.273 M593mr.
- [Montgomery] Burrows, Brenda Sue Montgomery and Threlka Jane Montgomery Morrison. The Montgomery Family of Fannin County, Texas from 1773 to 1986: Descendants of Okitbbeha and Holmes Counties Mississippi and Fairfield District, South Carolina. n.p.: B.S.M. Burrows, T.J.M. Morrison, 1986. FHL 929.273 M766bu
- [Mooty] Nickell, Joseph Donald. Descendants of Thomas Mooty, (1660-) and Allied Families. Santa Fe, N.M.: J.D. Nickell, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 M789n.
- [Nolen] Nolen, Jewell. The Nolen Story. Cookeville, Tenn.: J. Nolen, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 N717n.
- [Pearson] Pearson, Ralph E. Berkshire Pearsons. Austin, Texas: R.E. Pearson, 198-. FHL Book 929.273 P317pree.
- [Pettypool] Hartsough, Carolyn S. "The William Pettypool Family of Southside Virginia: Lineage Reconstruction Based on Current Review of Evidence," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2003):57-75; Vol. 47, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2003):139-146. Digital version at American Ancestors ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
- [Powell] Andrea, Leonardo. Powell. 1962. FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
- [Robb] Crum Family Bible Records, 1738-1878. Copy: FHL Film 835114 Item 4.
- [Rodgers] Andrea, Leonardo. Rodgers--Roger--Rogers. Typescript, Polk County Historical Society, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
- [Scott] Wiese, O'Levia Neil Wilson. William Scott of Fairfield County, South Carolina, and His Descendants. Waco, Texas: L.N.W. Wiese, 1987. FHL 929.273 Sco83wo
- [Seale] Seale, Ida Carrie. Seale and Allied Families. Texas?: I.C. Seale, 1946. FHL Book 929.273 Se15si 1946.
- [Seale] Salter Family Genealogy, ca. 1666-1970. Typescript. Microfilmed 1992: FHL Film 1697644 Item 39.
- [Shelton] Gee, Wilson. "The Bowles, Anderson and Shelton Families as Related to the Descendants of William Sims (1765-1833), and His Wife, Elizabeth Shelton Sims (1767-1833), of Union County, South Carolina," The William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Ser., Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct. 1936):602-608. FHL Collection 973 H25w ser. 2 v. 16 (1936); digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Steele] Steele, Miriam and Parker Steele. The Steeles of Bibb: A Pioneer Alabama Family with Allied Families. Lowndesboro, Ala.: M. & P. Steele, 1974. FHL Book 929.273 St32smp.
- [Stephenson] Mount, Allen Wade. Our Stephenson Family and Allied Lines: A Brief Genealogical and Historical Record. Lee's Summit, Mo.: A.W. Mount, Sr., 1981. FHL Film 1033856 Item 6.
- [Thomas] Andrea, Leonardo. "Folder no. 888. Thomas of Union, Chester, and Fairfield," Genealogical Folders in the Leonardo Andrea Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1974: FHL Film 954596.
- [Thompson] Beckman, Ludwig A. Alexander Thompson of Fairfield District, South Carolina: The Genealogical Record of His Descendants. Ellisville, Miss.?: unknown, 1950. Digital versions at Ancestry ($) and World Vital Records ($).
- [Tidwell] Johnson, Charles Owen. "The Tidwell Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):3-7; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):114-121; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):181-186; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):295-299; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):35-40; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):129-135; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):175-182; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):257-264; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):39-45. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 17 (1973) - v. 19 (1975).
- [Trapp] Trapp, A.C. Lt. Thomas Trapp: Regulator and Revolutionary of South Carolina. Monroe, La.: A.C. Trapp, 1995. FHL Film 1425082 Item 7.
- [Williamson] Ballowe, Patricia Jewell. Williamson Genealogy: and Allied Lines for Reese, Norris, Lafitte, Billingsley, Bourquin, Ketter, McWillie and Micajah Williamson, a Possible Connection. n.p.: P.J. Ballowe, 2008. digital version at [ https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/records/item/577457-williamson-genealogy-and-allied-lines-for-reese-norris-lafitte-billingsley-bourquin-ketter-mcwillie-and-micajah-williamson-a-possible-connection?offset=1 FamilySearch Digital Library]; FHL Book 929.273 W676bp.
- [Yongue] Coleman, Susan Lee and Amanda Penn Devore Gibson. Alexander William Yongue and Mary Ann Ellison of Fairfield County, South Carolina and Marion County, Florida: With Related Families: Yongue--Ellison--Potts, Pickett--Henson--Boulware --Muscoe--Gray. [Amarillo, Texas: S. Coleman], 1991. FHL 929.273 Y8c
Land[edit | edit source]
Deeds[edit | edit source]
- Draine, Tony. Fairfield County, S.C., Deed Book A, 1785-1788. Columbia, S.C.: Draban, 1991. FHL Collection 975.749 R2d
Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868[edit | edit source]
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative.
Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Ederington, William.History of Fairfield County, South Carolina (Tuscaloosa, Alabama : Willo Publishing Co., ) , 95 pages. A manuscript history published in the News and Herald, a newspaper of Winnsboro, Fairfield County, South Carolina, in installments, on the dates as indicated with each installment herein. Book found at FHL 975.749 H2r. Digital copy at Archive.org. Other copies
- McMaster, Fitz Hugh. History of Fairfield County, South Carolina:From "before the white man came" to 1942 (Spartanburg, South Carolina : The Reprint Company, 1980 . Reprint of original published: Columbia, S.C. : State Commercial Printing Company, 1946.), 257 pages. Book found at FHL 975.749 H2m and Other Libraries.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- "Palmetto Regiment roster, Fairfield and Chester Companies, 1847," Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter, March 2003, Volume 16, Issue 1. Fairfield Chapter SCGS: Winnsboro, SC.
- "Florida War, 1836, SC veterans in 1878," Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter, December 2000, Volume 15, Issue 4. Fairfield Chapter SCGS: Winnsboro, SC.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- McCrady, Edward. Heroes of the Old Camden District, South Carolina, 1776-1861: An Address to the Survivors of Fairfield County, Delivered at Winnsboro, S.C., September 1st, 1888, by Col. Edward McCrady, Jr., of Charleston, S.C. Richmond, Va.: Wm. Ellis Jones, Book and Job Printer, 1888. Digital version at Google Books.
- "Battle of Rocky Mount, 1770," Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter, June 2003, Volume 16, Issue 2. Fairfield Chapter SCGS: Winnsboro, SC.
- "Fairfield redcoats," Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter, 1992, Volume 5, Issue 2. Fairfield Chapter SCGS: Winnsboro, SC.
- "Revolutionary soldiers buried in county," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, December 1981, Volume 4, Issue 4. Chester County Genealogical Society: Richburg, South Carolina. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
- "Soldiers graves," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, January 1966, Volume 100, Issue 1. Daughters of the American Revolution : Washington D.C. FHL Collection Book 973 B2dar.
- "Battle of the Mobleys meeting house," Historical Magazine, June 1873, Volume 1, Issue 6 and April 1873, Volume 1, Issue 4. Henry B. Dawson: Morrisania, New York.
- Shelton, Kenneth A. All that dare oppose them: the Whig victory at Mobley's Meeting House, June 1780: Being a history of the victory of the Whigs over the Tories at the Battle of Mobley's Meeting House on Little River, Fairfield district, South Carolina in June 1780. Gainsville, Virginia: K.A. Shelton, c2005. FHL Collection Book 975.749 M2s.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Fairfield County, p. 185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Fairfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Fairfield County or from many of its men:
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company H (also known as the Congaree Troop) and Company I (also known as the Edgefield Hussars or formerly known as Company A, Cavalry Battalion, Hampton Legion, and the Edgefield Dragoons)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Lauren's) (James'), Company G (also known as the Aiken Guards)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company B
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company B
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company H
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company B
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company H
- - 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company A
- - 6th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company F, Company H, Company I
- - 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company C
- - 6th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company D, Company I, Company G, and Company H
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company B, Company E, Company G, and Company H
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company D, Company G, and Company H
- - 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- - Before Reorganization the 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry had the following companies: Company C
- - 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C, Company D, and Company F
- - 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company E and Company I
- - 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- - 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B and Company D
- - 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- - 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- - South Carolina State Troop Regiments Seed Corn Units, Junior Reserves, 3rd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia)
- McMaster, Fitz Hugh. History of Fairfield County, South Carolina:From "before the white man came" to 1942 (Spartanburg, South Carolina: The Reprint Company, 1980 . Reprint of original published: Columbia, S.C.: State Commercial Printing Company, 1946.), 257 pages. Civil War pages 125-142. Some company rosters. Book found at FHL 975.749 H2m and Other Libraries.
- South Carolina. Comptroller General. Pension Records of Confederate Veterans and Their Widows, 1889-1891. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1961) Arranged by surname. Microfilm copy at FHL 292429
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History. Pension Lists For Fairfield County, South Carolina, 1919, 1930, 1940-1943. (Columbia, South Carolina: Filmed by the South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1970). Microfilm copy at FHL 1294221 Items 1-2
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Fairfield County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- Herald-Independent (Winnsboro, S.C) 1982-current.
- The Daily News (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1865-1865.
- The Daily Register (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1850-1855.
- The Fairfield Courier (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1865-1865.
- The Fairfield Herald (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1849-1876.
- The Fairfield Independent (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1979-1982
- The Fairfield News (Ridgeway, S.C.) 1909-1915.
- The News and Herald (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1876-1982.
- The News and Herald (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1877-1900.
- The News. Fairfield and Chester Advertiser (Winnsboro, Fairfield District, S.C.) 1844-1844.
- The Register (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1855-1862.
- The Tri-Weekly News (Winnsboro, S.C.) 1865-1876.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:
- Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin
- Fairfield Genealogical Society Newsletter
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.” Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.
- Will of John Lee of Little River, Fairfield Co., S.C. 1786. MSS., South Carolina Archives, Kershaw County Wills, Vol. 1 of Wills not recorded, pp. 59-61. FHL 1597743 Item 37
- Wills 1787-1791 (abstracts and transcripts) South Carolina Pioneers
- Wills 1792-1795 (transcripts) South Carolina Pioneers
- Wills 1800-1803 (transcripts) South Carolina Pioneers
- Index to Fairfield County Probate Records 1787-1868 (by surname) South Carolina Pioneers
- Index to Will Book 1 (1787-1791); Will Book 2 (1792-1795); Will Book 4 (1800-1803); Will Book 5 (1804-1805); Will Book 6 (1806-1807); Will Book 7 (1815-1816); Will Book 8 (1822-1823); Will Book 9 (1824-1829); Will Book 10 (1828-1829); Will Book 12 (1829-1830); Will Book 11 (1836-1837); Will Book 13 (1831-1833 South Carolina Pioneers
- Wills, Fairfield County, courtesy USGenWeb Archives.
- Wills, 1785-1904. Probate Court, Fairfield County, South Carolina. Includes index.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1670-1980 - South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1671-1977 - South Carolina Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — images
- 1732-1964 - South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — images
- 1782-1866 - South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at findmypast — $, index
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Fairfield County.
- 1792 Tax List, 1792, Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Sep. 1990); Vol. 13, No. 4 (Dec. 1990).
- 1792 Draine, Tony and Edd Bannister. Fairfield County SC Tax Returns, 1792. Columbia, S.C.: Draban, 1991. FHL Book 975.749 R4d
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Births[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Fairfield County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1766-1900 - South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — images
Marriages[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.
Deaths[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1816-1990 - South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — index
- 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Fairfield County Library Main Branch
300 Washington Street
Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180
Hours: Monday to Wednesday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Catalog: Fairfield County Library catalog is part of the SC Lends system powered by Evergreen. It is best viewed with Firefox.
The Historical Room contains published South Carilina Materials with emplasis on Fairfield County including cemetery records; local newspapers on microfilm from 1866; microfilms of early wills, probate records, and some census records. There are no manuscripts or loose papers.
Ridgeway Branch Library
175 South Palmer Street
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Hours: Monday to Thorsday 2:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Museums[edit | edit source]
The Fairfield County Museum
231 S. Congress St.
P. O. Box 6
Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180
Office Hours: Tuesday - Friday 10:00 AM- to 5:00 PM (closed for lunch); Sat 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
This museum is located in a historic house which displays local artifacts. A gift shop sells publications on local history. The Museum has welcoms volunteer to help with various projects that include: archeological projects such as - scouting to find Revolutionary battle sites for National Park Service surveys,the identification of a section of the Great Philadelphia Wagon Road that had been forgotten by time in dense forest cover, the discovery of an eighteenth century riverboat canal, and the locating and documenting of old graveyards.
Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]
- Fairfield County Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 93
Winnsboro SC 29180
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Fairfield County, SC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- [http://sciway3.net/scgenweb/altco/scfairfield/ Fairfield County, SCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Fairfield County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- South Carolina Pioneers South Carolina Pioneers
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fairfield County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- South Carolina State Library, "Fairfield County"
- Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 23 December 2019.
- Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
- Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."