Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Ohio
Fairfield County

Guide to Fairfield County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a county in Ohio. For other uses, see Fairfield (disambiguation).


{{{link}}}

Fairfield County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Fairfield County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Fairfield County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Fairfield County Courthouse
224 East Main Street
Lancaster, Ohio 43130
Fairfield County Website


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1803
1867
1801
1803
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Ross and Washington Counties in 9 December 1800.[1]
  • County Seat: Lancaster

Description

The county was named for a reference to the Fairfield area of the original Lancaster.[2] It's county seat is Lancaster and was founded December 9, 1800. It is located in the Mid-central area of the state.[3]

Neighboring Counties

Licking County  • Perry County  • Hocking County  • Pickaway County  • Franklin County


Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Ohio Digital Collections



Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

The Fairfield County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society has published readings of all of the cemeteries in Fairfield County. A surname index is available on their website.

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohfairfield.jpg

Military

  • Civil War

Civil War service men from Fairfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Fairfield County.

- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company F
- 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies C, H, and K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Original & Microfilm:

Ohio History Connection Archives Library, 800 E. 17th Ave., Columbus, Ohio, 43211 Ohio History

  • American Lancaster gazette - American Lancaster gazette [npdb]. Lancaster, Ohio : Tom S. Slaughter, 1855-1860.
  • Baltimore Fairfield County News (Fairfield) - Baltimore Fairfield County News (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1889-1897
  • Baltimore Fairfield Leader (Fairfield) - Baltimore Fairfield Leader (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1977-1988
  • Baltimore Fairfield Recorder (Fairfield) - Baltimore Fairfield Recorder (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1970-1974
  • Baltimore News (Fairfield) - Baltimore News (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1962-1969
  • Baltimore News Recorder (Fairfield) - Baltimore News Recorder (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1968-1969
  • Baltimore Twin City News (Fairfield) - Baltimore Twin City News (Fairfield) [npdb] Baltimore 1897-1960
  • Bremen Derrick (Fairfield) - Bremen Derrick (Fairfield) [npdb] Bremen 1911-1977
  • The Buckeye news - The Buckeye news [npdb]. Canal Winchester, Ohio : O.P. Gayman
  • Canal Winchester times - Canal Winchester times [npdb]. Canal Winchester, Franklin Co., Ohio : C.M. Gould

Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts


Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Fairfield County Courthouse
224 E Main Street PO Box 370
Lancaster, OH 43130-3842
Phone: 740.687.7030 

County Judge has birth records 1803-1907, marriage, death
and probate records; Clerk Court has divorce records from
1860 and court records from 1800; County Recorder  has
land records from 1803[5]

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Sandusky Ohio Family History Center

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Fairfield Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
503 Linwood Dr
Lancaster, Ohio, 43130
740-653-2573
Wonderful resources, much more so than the Public Library
See Fairfieldgenealogy.org


Fairfield County District Library
Museums
Societies

Fairfield County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society

Taxation

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records


Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fairfield County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Divorce

Websites

City Websites:

Township Websites

Places

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County,_Ohio accessed 2/16/2017
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/fairfield/ accessed 2/16/2017
  4. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fairfield County, Ohio. Page 541 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.