Fairfield County, Connecticut Genealogy
Guide to Fairfield County, Connecticut ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- This article is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Fairfield (disambiguation).
|Fairfield County, Connecticut|
Location in the state of Connecticut
|Founded||May 10, 1666|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migraton
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Websites
- 5 Research Guides
- 6 References
- The county was named referring to the beauty of its fields.
- The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
- Named for the hundreds of acres of salt marsh that bordered the coast.
- There is no county government.
- The government is at the town level.
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Huntington (Shelton) 1789
New Fairfield 1740
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Parent County: Created 10 May 1666 from the Colonial lands, one of four original counties.
- County Seat has none since 1960 and the county was created 1666.
- North part was taken to form Litchfield County 14 October 1751.
For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
- William Willard Roberts, Pioneers and patriots of Pequannock, 1639-1799 , (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983). Includes sections of old Fairfield, Stratford, and Stratfield. "This historical synopsis...makes no pretense of being complete." Pequannock now known as Bridgeport, Connecticut. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6019422.
- J.H. Beers & Company, Commemorative biographical record of Fairfield County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1899). Includes fullname index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1421858 Items 4-5, or FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 D3c pt.2.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
Territory and State Census Records
Federal Census Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
- History of Fairfield County, Connecticut. Compiled under supervision of D. Hamilton Hurd. 1881. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : J.W. Lewis. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online - Part 1, FamilySearch Books Online - Part 2; Hathitrust; Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Fairfield County, Connecticut, 1639-1928. By Lynn Winfield Wilson. 1929. Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online - Vol. 1, FamilySearch Books Online - Vol. 2; Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers
World War I
- 1917 - Connecticut, World War I, Military Census of Nurses, 1917 at FamilySearch — index
World War II
Naturalization and Citizenship
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Gaelic American Club, Inc.
74 Beach Rd, Fairfield
101 West Putnam Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830-5387
- Fairfield County, CT History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Connecticut Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Connecticut Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- ancestry.com$, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Available databases for Fairfield County.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Genealogy
- Cyndi's List, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County General Resource Sites
- epodunk, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut Ancestry and Family History
- The Fairfield County CTGenWeb Project, an member of The CTGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County Genealogy and Famiy History
- MyGenealogist.com, (accessed 8 Aug 2017); Fairfield County Genealogy Resources.
- USGennet, (accessed 28 Feb 2011), provides genealogical research links for the county of Fairfield, Connecticut.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- [hhttps://web.archive.org/web/20151023093545/http://resources.rootsweb.ancestry.com/USA/CT/Fairfield/ Websites at RootsWeb for Fairfield County], (accessed 4 Mar 2011).
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Fairfield County
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County,_Connecticut 04/27/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Fairfield County, Connecticut," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfield_County%2C_Connecticut, accessed 25 September 2018.