Fairfield, Utah Historical Society
|Fairfield Utah Historical Society|
The Fairfield Utah Historical Society ...
Guide to Fairfield, Utah County, Utah ancestry, family history and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
- 1 Benefits
- 2 History of the society
- 3 Society Officers
- 4 Society Projects
- 5 Blog
- 6 Facebook page
- 7 Publications
- 8 Newsletters
- 9 Collections
- 10 Events
Benefits[edit | edit source]
- Members of the Friends of Camp Floyd society receive unlimited access to the Camp Floyd/Stage Coach Inn State Park museums including the historic school house and holiday activities.
- Non-members have access to the website. You can contact us by phone at (435)414-0525 email at FairfieldUtHA@gmail.com and postal at 157 E Jordan Ridge Blvd #304, Saratoga Springs UT 84045.
History of the society[edit | edit source]
- Fairfield Utah is best known as the host town of Johnston's Army from 1858 to 1861. The town was called Frogtown during the Army occupation by 3,500 troops. Frogtown was a boom town similar to those found in mining towns complete with saloons, hotels and painted ladies. After the Army left at the outbreak of the American Civil War in 1861 only 18 families remained.
- The Friends of Camp Floyd is a non-profit support organization for the Camp Floyd Stage Coach Inn State Park. The "Friends" support the military and civilian living history events on holiday weekends during the summer. Fairfield Historical Society which focuses on the Camp Floyd period of 1858-1861.
Society Officers[edit | edit source]
- Michael C. Helmantoler, President; Bradford R. Gurney, Vice President; Margaret C. Buttars. Secretary/ Treasurer ; Russell Felt, Chairman; Pam Carson, DUP Liaison; Chuck Mood, Military Liaison
Society Projects[edit | edit source]
- We have collected a 100 article archive that is housed in the Lehi City Historical Archive in Lehi.
- Many of these articles will be available on our website Friends of Camp Floyd .
Current Projects[edit | edit source]
- Building the web site and funding youth scholarships.
FamilySearch Wiki Projects[edit | edit source]
- Fairfield Utah Wiki Page Barn Raising
FamilySearch Wiki Page Adoptions[edit | edit source]
Past Projects[edit | edit source]
- Civil War Sandbox
Blog[edit | edit source]
Facebook page[edit | edit source]
Publications[edit | edit source]
2015 Booklet series
- Camp Floyd Utah Soldiers Poetry - Haws
- History of Fairfield Utah - Hanson
- Fairfield Utah Historical Walking Tour - Helmantoler
- Frogtown Establishments - Haws
- Pony Express and Overland Stage at Camp Floyd - Felt
- First Families of Fairfield Utah - Carson
- Dobie Town Utah Gentile Enterprises - Moon
- Camp Floyd Utah Military Biographies - Mood
The above titles are scheduled to be published in 2015 and available for purchase at the Camp Floyd Stagecoach Inn State Park Commisary/Museum and on theFriends of Camp Floyd web site
Newsletters[edit | edit source]
- We use Google Plus for our monthly newsletter. You can request an invitation to our Friends of Camp Floyd circle by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Record collections or papers to which your society has access
- How these records can help researchers
- Where the record is located (online, on site, at nearby repositories)
- How to access it from a distance
- Indexes for records about this area
- Where the index is located (online, book, or on site)
- Other photographs and articles appear on our Friends of Camp Floyd Facebook, Twitter and media sites.
- Signs for stops in a historic Fairfield / Frogtown / Camp Floyd walking tour are being created and will be in a tour book of showing where families lived and businesses operated during the days of Camp Floyd.
Events[edit | edit source]
- The main events are the living history demonstrations of military and civilian life, We plan walking tours of Historic Fairfield, and computer workshops at the Eagle Mountain Family History Center,
Society Meetings[edit | edit source]
- The first Thursday of the month at the Lehi City Historical Archives at 2151 North Pointe Meadow Drive Lehi, Utah 84043. Members also may participate a live teleconference via Google Hangout
Workshops[edit | edit source]
- Members will be notified of Google Hangout presentations online or meetings at the Lehi City Historical Archives on using the Camp Floyd Archives for historical research on Fairfield Utah.
Board Meetings[edit | edit source]
- The first Thursday of the month Lehi City Historical Archives at 2151 North Pointe Meadow Drive Lehi, Utah 84043. The public may also participate and join in via Google Hangout on Uberconference tool,
Training Meetings[edit | edit source]
- Memorial Day and Labor Day living history enactments at the Stage Coach Inn
- Docent training will be offBuilding. For members by special appointment @ 801-857-8120 and talking with John Haws LehiHistory@gmail.com