To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Fair Oak, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Fair Oak, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Fair Oak, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fair Oak, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fawley
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Winchester
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1863; For more records see Bishopstoke
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchester
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Bishopstoke; Post 1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

FAIROAK, a chapelry in Bishopstoke parish, Hants; 7 miles S of Winchester. It has a post office under Southampton.[1].

[tree] This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Fair Oak parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
FS PRs = England, Hampshire Parish Registers, 1538-1980 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Hampshire Bishop's Transcripts 1680-1892 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Hampshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Hampshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
ANC = Hampshire, England, Allegations for Marriage Licences, 1689-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Fair Oak Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1980
1538-1980
1538-1980
FS BTs 1680-1892
1680-1892
1680-1892
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FMP 1752-1851
1754-1837
1400-1850
TGEN 1537-1800s
1538-1800s
1538-1800s
ANC

1689-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Hampshire Archives and Local Studies.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Hobbs, Wendy J.  The Axford Family, Their Story So Far. Three  pictures of the family, with names, and history from John Edward Axford 1855-1934, who worked at the Ordnance Survey Dept. in Southampton.  His daughter Dorothy Maria Axford born c 1883 at Fair Oaks and who marries Sidney Clark at St. James Church, Bournemouth, 1904, The article tells the of various members of the family, from 1855-1945. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV, no.2, August 1988, pages 125-128, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

FamilySearchTree.png This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales , 1870. Date accessed: 14 June 2013.
  2. ↑ Searching Parish Records online (Hampshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
v • d • e
Links to Hampshire-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Abbot’s Ann  • Aldershot  • Alresford  • Alton  • Alverstoke  • Ampfield  • Amport  • Andover  • Andwell  • Appleshaw  • Arreton  • Ashe  • Ashley  • Ashmansworth  • Avington  • Barton  • Barton Stacey  • Basing  • Basingstoke  • Baughurst  • Beaulieu  • Beauworth  • Bedhampton  • Bembridge  • Bentley  • Bentworth  • Bighton  • Binstead  • Binsted  • Bishops Sutton  • Bishop's Waltham  • Bishopstoke  • Blendworth  • Boarhunt  • Boldre  • Bonchurch  • Bossington  • Botley  • Bournemouth St Peter  • Brading  • Bradley  • Braishfield  • Bramdean  • Bramley  • Bramshaw  • Bramshott  • Bransgore  • Breamore  • Brightstone  • Brockenhurst  • Brooke  • Broughton  • Brown Candover with Chilton Candover  • Buckholt  • Bullington  • Burghclere  • Buriton  • Bursledon  • Calbourne  • Calshot  • Carisbrooke  • Carisbrooke St John  • Carisbrooke St Nicholas  • Catherington  • Chale  • Chalton  • Chawton  • Cheriton  • Chilbolton  • Chilcomb  • Chilworth  • Christchurch  • Church Oakley  • Clanfield  • Cliddesden  • Colden Common  • Coldrey  • Colmer  • Combe  • Compton  • Copythorne  • Corhampton  • Cove  • Crawley  • Crofton  • Crondall  • Crookham-with-Ewshott  • Crown Farm  • Crux Easton  • Curdridge  • Deane  • Denmead  • Dibden  • Dockenfield  • Dogmersfield  • Droxford  • Dummer  • Dunwood  • Durley  • East Boldre  • East Cowes  • East Dean  • East Meon  • East Stratton  • East Tisted  • East Tytherley  • East Wellow  • East Woodhay  • East Worldham  • Easton  • Eastrop  • Ecchinswell  • Eling  • Ellingham  • Ellisfield  • Elson  • Elvetham  • Empshott  • Emsworth  • Eversley  • Ewhurst  • Exbury  • Exton  • Faccombe  • Fair Oak  • Fareham  • Fareham Holy Trinity  • Faringdon  • Farleigh Wallop  • Farley Chamberlayne  • Farlington  • Farnborough  • Fawley  • Fordingbridge  • Forton  • Foxcott  • Freefolk  • Frenchmoor  • Frensham  • Freshwater  • Froxfield  • Froyle  • Fyfield  • Gatcombe  • Godsfield  • Godshill  • Goodworth Clatford  • Gosport  • Gosport St Matthew  • Grateley  • Great Salterns  • Greatham  • Greywell  • Hale  • Hamble  • Hambledon  • Hampreston  • Hannington  • Harbridge  • Hartley Mauditt  • Hartley Wespall  • Hartley Wintney  • Havant  • Hawkley  • Hawley  • Headbourne Worthy  • Headley  • Heckfield  • Herriard  • Highclere  • Hinton Admiral  • Hinton Ampner  • Holdenhurst  • Holybourne  • Hordle  • Houghton  • Hound  • Hunton  • Hursley  • Hurstbourne Priors  • Hurstbourne Tarrant  • Hythe  • Ibsley  • Idsworth  • Itchen Abbas  • Itchen Stoke with Abbotstone  • Kilmeston  • Kimpton  • Kings Somborne  • Kings Worthy  • Kingsclere  • Kingsley  • Kingston  • Knight's Enham  • Lainston  • Langrish  • Lasham  • Laverstoke  • Leckford  • Linkenholt  • Liss  • Litchfield  • Little Somborne  • Littleton  • Lockerley  • Long Sutton  • Longparish  • Longstock  • Lymington  • Lyndhurst  • Mapledurwell  • Marchwood  • Martin  • Martyr Worthy  • Mattingley  • Medstead  • Meonstoke  • Micheldever  • Michelmersh  • Milford  • Milland  • Millbrook  • Milton (near Milford)  • Milton (near Portsea)  • Minstead  • Monk Sherborne  • Monxton  • Morestead  • Mottisfont  • Mottistone  • Nately Scures  • Nether Wallop  • New Forest  • Newchurch  • Newnham  • Newport  • Newton Valence  • Newtown (near Newbury)  • Newtown (near Meanstoke)  • Niton  • North Baddesley  • North Eling  • North Hayling  • North Stoneham  • North Waltham  • Northwood  • Nursling  • Oakfield  • Odiham  • Old Alresford  • Otterbourne  • Over Wallop  • Overton  • Ovington  • Owslebury  • Pamber  • Park House  • Parkhurst Forest  • Pennington  • Penton Mewsey  • Petersfield  • Pokesdown  • Portchester  • Portsea St Mary  • Portsea All Saints  • Portsea Holy Trinity  • Portsea St George  • Portsea St John  • Portsea St Paul  • Portsmouth  • Portswood  • Preston Candover with Nutley  • Prior's Dean  • Privett  • Quarley  • Redhill  • Ringwood  • Rockbourne  • Romsey  • Ropley  • Rotherwick  • Rowner  • Ryde Holy Trinity  • Sandown  • Sarisbury  • Selborne  • Shalden  • Shalfleet  • Shanklin  • Sherborne St John  • Sherfield English  • Sherfield-on-Loddon  • Shidfield  • Shipton Bellinger  • Shirley  • Shorwell  • Silchester  • Soberton  • Sopley  • South Hayling  • South Stoneham  • South Tidworth  • South Warnborough  • Southampton All Saints  • Southampton Holy Rood  • Southampton Holy Trinity  • Southampton St Laurence with St John  • Southampton St Mary  • Southampton St Michael  • Southsea St Jude  • Southwick  • Sparsholt  • St Helens  • St Lawrence  • St Mary Bourne  • St Mary Extra  • Steep  • Steventon  • Stockbridge  • Stoke Charity  • Stoneham  • Stratfield Saye  • Stratfield Mortimer  • Stratfield Turgis  • Swanmore  • Swarraton with Northington  • Sway  • Sydmonton  • Tadley  • Tangley  • Thorley  • Thruxton  • Tichborne  • Timsbury  • Titchfield  • Tufton  • Tunworth  • Twyford  • Up Nateley  • Upham  • Upper Clatford  • Upper Eldon  • Upton Gray  • Vernhams Dean  • Warblington  • Warnford  • Waterlooville  • Weeke  • West Cowes  • West Dean  • West End  • West Meon  • West Tisted  • West Tytherley  • West Worldham  • Weston Corbett  • Weston Patrick  • Weyhill  • Wherwell  • Whippingham  • Whitchurch  • Whitsbury  • Whitwell  • Wickham  • Widley  • Wield  • Winchester Cathedral  • Winchester Cathedral Yard  • Winchester College Mill  • Winchester College Wharf  • Winchester Morley’s College  • Winchester St Bartholomew Hyde  • Winchester St Cross Hospital Precincts  • Winchester St Cross with St. Faith  • Winchester St John  • Winchester St Lawrence  • Winchester St Mary’s College  • Winchester St Maurice  • Winchester St Michael  • Winchester St Peter Chesil  • Winchester St Swithun  • Winchester St Thomas  • Winchester the Close  • Winchester the Weirs  • Winchester Wolvesey  • Winchfield  • Winnall  • Winslade  • Wolverton  • Wonston  • Woodcott  • Woodgreen  • Woodlands  • Woodmancote and Popham  • Woolton Hill  • Wootton  • Wootton St Lawrence  • Worting  • Wroxall  • Wymering  • Yarmouth  • Yateley  • Yaverland

Probate
Courts
Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester • Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead • Peculiar of Alverstoke with Gosport • Peculiar of North Baddesley • Peculiar of Baughurst • Peculiar of Binstead • Peculiar of Bishopstoke • Peculiar of Brighstone aka Brixton • Peculiar of Burghclere • Peculiar of Calbourne • Peculiar of Cheriton with Kilmeston and Tichborne • Peculiar of Chilbolton • Peculiar of Chilcombe • Peculiar of Compton • Peculiar of Crawley with Hunton • Peculiar of Droxford with Swanmore, Shidfield, Hill and Midlington • Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Salisbury • Peculiar of Easton • Peculiar of East Meon with Combe, Steep, Ramsdean, Froxfield and Oxenbourne • Peculiar of Exton • Peculiar of Fareham with Catisfield and Dean • Peculiar of Fawley with Exbury, Lepe, Cadlands, Ower, Holbury, Langley, Stanswood, Butsash, Hardley, Stone, Hythe and Brickmerston • Peculiar of Hambledon with Denmead • Peculiar of Hannington  • Peculiar of Havant with Leigh and Brockhampton • Peculiar of Highclere • Peculiar of Holdenhurst • Peculiar of Houghton • Peculiar of Hursley with Otterbourne, Merdon and Silkstead • Peculiar of Hurstbourne Priors with St Mary Bourne • Peculiar of Littleton • Peculiar of Meonstoke with Soberton and Hoe • Peculiar of West Meon with Privett • Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield • Peculiar of Morestead • Peculiar of Overton with Tadley and Polhampton • Peculiar of Ovington • Peculiar of Ringwood with Harbridge • Peculiar of St. Faith or St. Cross • Peculiar of South Stoneham and St. Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst • Peculiar of Twyford with Owslebury and Brambridge • Peculiar of Upham with Durley • Peculiar of Bishops Waltham with Hamble and Bursledon • Peculiar of North Waltham • Peculiar of Warnford • Peculiar of Whitchurch with Freefolk and Charlecott • Peculiar of Winnall • Peculiar of Wonston with Sutton, Scotney and Cranborne • Peculiar of East Woodhay with Ashmansworth • Prerogative Court of Canterbury • Principal Probate Registry
Major
 Repositories

FamilySearch

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Fair_Oak,_Hampshire_Genealogy&oldid=3599765"