Exmoor, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Exmoor, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Exmoor, Devon.
|Hundred||South Molton; Williton and Freemanners|
|Poor Law Union||Dulverton; South Molton|
|Registration District||Barnstaple; Tiverton|
|Parish registers: 1856|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EXMOOR, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset. Exmoor parish is primarily in the county of Somerset and partly in the county of Devon.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Exmoor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Exmoor Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date Accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Somerset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.