Exeter St Thomas, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Exeter St Thomas, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Exeter St Thomas, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||St Thomas|
|Registration District||St Thomas|
|Parish registers: 1541; Separate registers exist for Exeter St Andrew beginning 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
THOMAS, ST., THE APOSTLE, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, ½ a mile (S. by W.) from Exeter contains also the chapelry of Oldridge. The parish is bounded on the north-east by the river Exe, from which the Exeter canal passes to the south. The church, erected in 1412, and enlarged in 1829, is in the later English style. At Oldridge is a separate incumbency, and a chapel has been erected at the village of Exwick.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Exeter St Thomas, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Exeter St Thomas, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Exeter, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
- Plymouth Brethren
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Exeter St Thomas on GENUKI