Exeter New Hampshire Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
Welcome to the Exeter New Hampshire Family History Center.
Our library is now OPEN by appointment only. Sign up below.
You must sign up no later that 7PM on the day before you are coming so our staff can be available.
Due to staff training we will not be open Saturday June 19
If you cannot keep an appointment PLEASE remove your name from the sign up.
Before you sign up please note the 28 May 2021 announcement below.
ANNOUNCEMENT 28 May 2021 - Planned Maintenance for the Family History Center Portal: Beginning 2 June 2021 Limited Access collections and Partner Websites on the portal will be unavailable for 90 days due to system-wide maintenance. We apologize for this inconvenience. The Family History Library staff in Salt Lake City, UT will have the ability to search limited access collections online.
Currently there are free virtual consultations.
There are also free records look-up services at this time.
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Hours of Operation: Open by Appointment Only
- 3 Center Resources
- 4 Collections
- 5 Other Helpful Websites and Links
- 6 Resources in the Local Area
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map: Location Map
Address: 55 Hampton Falls Rd, Exeter, NH 03833-4700 Please note that this is not a mailing address.
- Enter at the rear of building through the door on the left.
Hours of Operation: Open by Appointment Only[edit | edit source]
Wednesday from 10:00 am-2:00 pm To schedule an appointment Click Here
Thursday from 6:30 pm-9:00 pm To schedule an appointment Click Here
Saturday from 9:00 am -1:00 pm To schedule an appointment Click Here
- Please wear a mask when coming to the center.
- Bring a USB flash drive to download documents or take home everything thing that you digitize.
- If you need an appointment on another day, Special Appointment Times can be arranged by emailing our center.
- If outside door is locked, please ring the bell to alert the consultants that you are here.
Inclement Weather Closings: We are closed on school snow days. If roads are cleared during the day we may be open in the evening. Before you come please call 603-778-2509 during our scheduled hours to see if we have re-opened.
2021 Holiday Closings: May 29, July 3, September 4, November 24 - 27, December 22 - January 1
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
FHC Portal - Free subscription websites available at our center.[edit | edit source]
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers - Fully searchable - Forty-eight 19th century national and regional newspapers
- Alexander Street Press, American Civil War - data on soldiers, letters and diaries, images, photographs, ephemera
- Ancestry.com - World Edition - Immigration, census, voter, vital records, stories, memories & histories, photos & images, newspapers & periodicals; Court records: land, wills, guardianship; Family trees
- ArkivDigital Online - Largest private provider of Swedish church records and other historical records such as estate inventories, court records, tax & census records, historical books; 15 Tutorials
- Fam.net - New Zealand family history - user submitted trees, stories and other digital content so you can collaborate with others
- Find My Past - primarily British records, some start in 1538; United Kingdom, Ireland, Australian, New Zealand, Canada, Ireland, US as a British colony, many parish records, digitizing all PERSI articles
- Fold3 - records from every major US war, complete pensions files for the Revolutionary War and War of 1812, Civil War pensions are in progress, international records, newspapers, Native American collection
- Geneanet - genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden and Germany - books, magazines, newspapers, military, obituaries, photos, vital records, land, court, wills, immigration, member trees
- Kinpoint - shows problems for your ancestors in the FamilySearch tree, missing information with possible record matches, duplicate people
- My Heritage - Ten billion+ US & international records from 32 countries, family trees; Exclusive record collections; Photos: Enhance, animate, colorize black & white or faded color photos
- Newspapers.com - historical newspapers, U.S. & international; 20,700+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000’s
- Paper Trail - 19th-century westward American migration documents to the far West, a searchable index with names, places and a survey of the text, shows where the original documents can be found
- Puzzilla Premium Services - reveals new areas for research in descendants of ancestors in the FamilyTree database, shows possible duplicates
Software installed on our computers[edit | edit source]
- Snagit – screen capture software
- GIMP – Photo restoration / Image editing software
- Paint.net - Photo restoration / Image editing software
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- Lexmark multi-function printer / scanner - Scan larger documents, Scan pictures directly to FamilySearch or to a thumbdrive or external drive, Prints legal size.
- 6 computers with dual screens
- 4 Microfilm readers
- 1 Microfilm/Micro Fiche scanner - images can be printed or scanned to a thumbdrive
- 1 Micro Fiche reader
- 2 Wolverine Reels to Digital Movie Maker - Converts 8 mm and Super 8 movies to a digital format
- Wolverine Film to Digital Converter - Converts negative and slides for film sizes 126, 127 and 135 mm, Converts 110 negatives, Converts 110 slides, Stores Digital conversions to SD card, 20 megapixel digital resolution
- Epson FastFoto FF-640 - Scans as fast as 1 photo per second, Adjusts to different photo sizes, Scans the image and handwritten notes on the back in a single scan, Restores faded photos, Organizing software
- Epson V800 - Large Format Flat Bed Scanner - For negatives and photos, Adjusts to different sizes, Scans the image, Restores faded photos, Organizing software
- Honestech VHS to DVD Converter - Captures video from VHS, cameras and optical discs or audio from cassettes, micro cassettes or record players to the computer in digital form that can then be edited with software
- Vivitar Card Reader - Transfer photos or documents stored on: SD cards, Micro SD cards, XD cards, Memory sticks, Micro Memory Sticks. Compact Flash cards to your laptop, to your computer, an external drive or thumbdrive
- Magix Movie Pro Software - Photos, documents, audio or video can be be edited or used to create movies or slideshows with transition, text, music or audio narration.
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by patrons, assorted titles. Contains family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection A small collection of books containing research guidance materials, biographies, indexes and databases. Our books are listed on LibraryThing.
Other Helpful Websites and Links[edit | edit source]
- The Family History Guide — A free learning, research, and training center
- Family Search WIKI help — A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research.
- BYU Family History Library — Classes and Webinars, Maps, Newspapers, Records, Links to informational and training YouTube series and more.
- Family History Library Classes and Webinars — Links upcoming online classes.
- Classes in the Learning Center — and their Archive of past classes
- FamilySearch YouTube
- FamilySearch Wiki
- Genuki (UK & Ireland)
- Find A Grave
- Utah Digital Newspapers
- BYU Idaho Special Collections
- U.S. Genealogy Directory — "Records directory lists and record sources from websites and archives. All sources have been organized by state, county, city, and record type."
- Cyndi’s List — "A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online."
- David Rumsey Map Collection