Evans, Erie County, New York Genealogy
Genealogical Resources: History of Evans, NY
Archives, Libraries and Museums
The town of Evans does not have a library but check out the Buffalo and Erie County Library System to locate the towns close to Evans that have public libraries.
| Grosvenor Room Genealogy
Buffalo and Erie County Public Library
Buffalo, NY 14203
Email form | blog
Genealogical Resources: Local histories, census records, church and cemetery records, city directories, ethnic and immigration research, African American research, published family histories, maps and atlases, military records and history, vital records, yearbooks and school records. The website includes dozens of guides for topics such as: African-American Genealogy, Canadian Genealogy, German Genealogy, Irish Genealogy, Italian Genealogy, Jewish Genealogy, Native American Genealogy, and Polish Genealogy.
| Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society
25 Nottingham Court
Buffalo, NY 14216
|Genealogical Resources: Library, Guide to Genealogical Materials, city directories, church records (many Roman Catholic parishes), cemetery transcriptions, censuses, genealogy books, obituary index to Buffalo newspapers (1811-2001), private papers, obituary request form, published family histories, list of professional researchers for hire.|
| Western New York Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 338
Hamburg, N.Y. 14075-0338
|Genealogical Resources: Surname list, locality list, 1865 Census index, journal, research library.|
Town of Evans, Historian
8787 Erie Road
Angola, NY 14006
To locate additional published and transcribed records for Evans, Erie County, New York Genealogy check:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.
- Erie County, New York Town Historians, Historical Societies and Historical Museums, Updated: 20 October 2004, http://wnyroots.tripod.com/index-historians.html (accessed 15 December 2011).