Etnedal Parish, Oppland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Etnedal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Etnedal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Akershus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1687: Akershus,
1687-1689: Gudbrandsdalen og Hedemarken, 1689-1757: Akershus,
1757-1781: Oppland,
1781-1919: Kristian
Fylke 1919-Present Oppland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Etnedalen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Etnedalen
Fogderi Valdres
Sorenskriveri Valdres
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Etnedal clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Bruflat and Nordre Etnedal. Bruflat parish was separated from Sør-Aurdal clerical district and Nordre Etnedal from Nord-Aurdal clerical district in 1894. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts.


Also available as digital images from The National Archives of Norway.

Etnedal / Nord-Etnedal (Thon): 1912-1973
Etnedal / Bruflat: 1963-1983


Census Records[edit | edit source]

See See Nord Aurdal and Sør-Aurdal for earlier census records.


  • 1900 Census for Etnedal clerical district includes Bruflat parish. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 273908 and online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1900-telling for 0541 Etnedalen,




Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Hvattum, Harald, Gard og bygd i Etnedal, Etnedal, 1989-1990. A history and a genealogy of the people and their farms in Etnedal, Oppland County, Norway. Etnedal includes Bruflat and Nordre Etnedal. FHL 948.24/E1 D2h A farm name indexes to three volumes are found in the following links. File:948.24-E1 D2h v 1 - Valdres Bygdebok 1.pdf, File:948.24-E1 D2h v 2 Valdres Bygdebok.pdf, File:948.24-E1 D2h v 3 Valdres Bygdebok.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1659-1857: Probates may be found in Hadeland, Land og Valdres judicial district.

1659-1903: Probates may be found in Valdres judicial district.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names