|Estonia Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Estonia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Estonia (Estonian: Eesti), officially the Republic of Estonia (Estonian: Eesti Vabariik), is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the north by the Gulf of Finland, to the west by the Baltic Sea, to the south by Latvia, and to the east by Lake Peipus and Russia. Across the Baltic Sea lies Sweden in the west and Finland in the north. The territory of Estonia consists of a mainland and 2,222 islands in the Baltic Sea, covering 45,339 km2 (17,505 sq mi) of land and water, and is influenced by a humid continental climate. Ethnic Estonians are a Finnic people, sharing close cultural ties with their northern neighbour, Finland, and the official language, Estonian, is a Finno-Ugric language closely related to Finnish and the Sami languages, and distantly to Hungarian.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Estonia Research
Links to articles on getting started with Estonia research.
Estonia Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Estonia research.
Estonia Map[edit | edit source]
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Estonia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Estonia , January 2018