Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Estill County

Guide to Estill County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Estill County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Estill County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 27, 1808
County Seat Irvine
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Estill County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Land Probate
1852 1808 1852 1810 1809 1808
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Estill County Courthouse, Irvine, KY


Estill County Courthouse
130 Main Street
Irvine, KY 40336-1098
Phone: 606.723.5156[1]

Estill County Kentucky History

Parent County

1808--Estill County was created 27 January 1808 from Clark and Madison Counties.
County seat: Irvine [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1864, 1964-- Disasters destroyed some records.

Estill County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Alumbaugh Irvine Palmer Sparks
Cobhill Jinks Patsey Spout Springs
Cressy Kimbrell Pilot Texola
Crystal Leighton Pitts Thomas
Evelyn Little Rock (hist.) Pryse Wagersville
Fitchburg Locust Branch Ravenna West Irvine
Fox Millers Creek Rice Station (hist.) Winston
Furnace Mountain Spring (hist.) Ross Creek (hist.) Wisemantown
Greenbriar (hist.) Noland Shade Witt
Hargett North Irvine South Irvine Witt Springs
Iron Mound















Neighboring Counties

Estill County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyestill.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Estill, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Estill county cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18102,082
18203,50768.4%
18304,61831.7%
18405,53519.9%
18505,9858.1%
18606,88615.1%
18709,19833.6%
18809,8607.2%
189010,8369.9%
190011,6697.7%
191012,2735.2%
192015,56926.9%
193017,0799.7%
194017,9785.3%
195014,677−18.4%
196012,466−15.1%
197012,7522.3%
198014,49513.7%
199014,6140.8%
200015,3074.7%
Est. 200814,948−2.3%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21065.txt

For tips on accessing Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Online Records


Regiments. Service men in Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy:

Confederate soldiers

- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company D

Union soldiers

- 14th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies E, F, G, H, I K, L and M.
- 47th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G and H.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Estill County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records..

Birth
  • 1839-1960 - KY Births and Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
  • 1852-1861 - Estill County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517301 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874 - Estill County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517302 at FamilySearch - free.
  • Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths and Marriages
Marriage
Death
Divorce
  • 1973-1993 - KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases

Estill County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Estill County Historical and Genealogical Society
133 Broadway
Irvine, KY 40336
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Estill County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Estill County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Estill County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.