Erpingham, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Erpingham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Aylsham|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
ERPINGHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, N. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Aylsham. There is a place of worship in the parish for a congregation of Wesleyan Methodists. 
Erpingham is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of North Norfolk.
Erpingham village and parish is situated in Norfolk, 4 miles (6.4 km) to the north of Aylsham, and gives its name to the adjoining Hundred , which was held by the family of Sir Thomas Erpingham for many generations.
The construction of the church of St. Mary in Erpingham was begun by Sir Thomas Erpingham, and finished by Lord Bardolph.
Suffolk serial killer Steve Wright, who murdered five Ipswich prostitutes in late 2006, was born at Erpingham in 1958.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Erpingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Erpingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms 1600-1609, 1623-1633, 1665-1678, 1688-1812 Marriages and burials 1600-1608, 1624-1633, 1665-1678, 1688-1812
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526780 Item 3
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Erpingham on GenUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 181-186. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 22 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Erpingham', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.