To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Erfjord Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Erfjord, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Erfjord Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Jelsa
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Jelsa
Fogderi Ryfylke
Sorenskriveri Ryfylke
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Erfjord church.jpg

Church record begin in 1695 and are part of Jelsa clerical district. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Jelsa, Sand and Erfjord. Erfjord was established in 1877 as its own parish. Jelsa clerical district included Sand parish until 1858. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library. There is also an extract of the birth, marriage, and death records from the church books from Jelsa clerical district which includes Jelsa, Erfjord, and Sand parishes in Rogaland county, 1695-1828.

Digitzed images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Jelsa: 1695-1949

Jelsa / Erfjord: 1864-1945

Census Records[edit | edit source]

1664-1666 Census (Manntall)

Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt III Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Jelsa Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Jelsa clerical district includes Jelsa, Sand, and Erfjord parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Jelsøe Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Jelsa Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Jælsøe Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Jelsa Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Jelsa Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Jelse Database

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability[edit | edit source]

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

  • Farm and family histories of Erfjord, Rogaland co., Norway.

Drange, Ernst Berge, Erfjord: gardar og folk, Sand: Suldal kommune, c2004 Vol. 1. Erfjordbygdå, Lovradalen og Tøssebotnen (Gardsnummer 48-60) -- Vol. 2. Fjedle, Håland med Hålandsosen og fardane sør i fjorden (Gardsnummer 61-72), Register. 948.31/E2 D2 FHL Intl Book

  • A genealogy of the people and their social customs in Erfjord in Rogaland county. With a supplement index by Jørg Eirik Waula.

Våge, Magnus, Erfjord bygdebok frå ætte- og kultursoga, Stavanger, Norway: Utgjevar Erfjord kommune, 1959 948.31/E2 D2 FHL Intl Book

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

69 Aas

49 Bog, 67 Bogland vestre, 55 Breiviken, 50 Bøen, 52 Bøen

50 Erfjord, 51 Erøen

52 Farmandsviken, 64 Frøkedalen, 54 Føljesvold

68 Haaland, 56 Hamre, 61 Haukelien, 61 Hausland, 65 Helgeland

71 Kilene, 57 Kolstø, 72

Langviken, 52 Leverskjær, 55 Lovre

64 Natland

51 Porsmyren

58 Rød, 62 Rørtveit

68 Sagtoen, 48 Sandviken, 50 Skjærehaugen, 55 Spøneflaaten, 60 Sørhus

52 Tennes, 66 Tveit, 59 Tysse

70 Vaagene, 65 Varaas, 53 Vik

63 Østerhus

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names