To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

England Female Nicknames (National Institute)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course English - Understanding Names in Genealogy  by Dr. Penelope Christensen. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).

Diminutives[edit | edit source]

During the 18th century the old pet names for Elizabeth such as Bess, Betty and Liz became established as given names in their own right and they start to be seen in parish registers as official names from about 1750. There seem to be more diminutives for girls, but for some male names there are many diminutives perhaps reflecting the fact that there were a lot of men having certain popular names. North Americans, in particular, may not know the common nicknames used for proper names in England, or may assume that the usage is the same as in North America. Boys’ names, in particular, are frequently abbreviated in the records and these forms have been included as well. Alan Bardsley’s First Name Variants should be consulted for a much more extensive selection. He lists over 230 for Elizabeth alone!


Chart:
Some Common English Girls’ Nicknames & Alternate Forms

Note: A girl could be christened with a nickname instead.

Nickname
Proper or Alternate Name
Abbie
Abigail
Addy
Adelaide, Adeline
Aggie
Agatha, Agnes
Agna
Agnes
Alena
Madeline, Magdalen
Allie
Alice, Alison
Amabel
Amy, Mabel
Amelia
Emily
Amy
Amelia, Emily
Angie
Angela
Anna
Anne
Annes, Annice, Annis
Agnes
April
Avril
Arty
Harriet
Austina
Augusta
Babette, Babs, Barbary
Barbara
Bea, Beat, Bettrys
Beatrice, Beatrix
Becky
Rebecca
Beithy
Tabitha
Bella, Belle
Isabel, Isobelle
Bennet
Benedicta
Bess, Bessie, Bet, Beth, Betty
Elizabeth
Bev
Beverley
Biddy
Bedelia, Bridget
Billie
Wilhelmina
Bina
Sabina
Bobby
Roberta
Bride, Bridie
Bridget
Bina
Benedicta
Bunny
Bernice
Cam, Cammie
Camilla
Care-happy
Kerrenhappuch
Carly
Caroline, Charlotte
Carrie
Caroline
Caryn
Caroline, Kerrenhappuch
Cassie
Cassandra
Cathie, Catty
Catherine
Celia
Celestina
Chris
Christine
Cilla
Priscilla, Zillah
Cindy
Lucinda
Cissie
Cecilia, Cicely, Syssely or ‘Sister’
Clem, Clemmie
Clemence, Clementine
Connie
Constance
Corah
Kerenhappuch
Daisy
Margaret, Marguerite
Deb, Debby
Deborah
Delphi
Philadelphia
Detta
Henrietta
Du, Dina
Diana, Diane
Dolly, Dot, Dottie
Dorothy
Dora, Dory
Dorothy, Isadora, Theodora
Dru
Drusilla
Dulcie
Dulcibella
Easter
Hester, Esther
Edie
Edith, Edwina
Effie, Eppie
Euphemia, Hephzibah
Elberta, Elbertine
Alberta, Albertine
Elizabeth
Isobel and variants, Ishbel
Ella
Isobella and variants
Ellen
Eleanor, Helen
Emily, Emmy
Amelia, Emmeline
Eph
Euphemia
Esther, Ester
Hester
Etta, Ettie
Harriet, Henrietta
Eugy
Eugenia
Euphie
Euphemia
Evie
Eve or Eva
Eva, Eve, Evita
Evangeline, Eveline
Fanny
Frances (but Sarah in Hants)
Flo, Florrie, Flossie, Floy
Flora, Florence
Fran, Frannie
Frances
Freda
Elfreda, Frederica, Winifred
Gaby
Gabrielle
Gail, Gayle, Gayel
Abigail
Gatha
Agatha
Gena, Genie
Eugenie
Gert, Gertie
Gertrude
Gina
Regina, Virginia
Ginnie, Ginny
Eugenie, Virginia
Greta
Marguerite, Margaret
Gussie
Augusta
Haggy
Agatha
Hannah
Anne
Harty, Hattie
Harriett
Heidi
Adelheid
Helen
Eleanor
Hester
Esther
Hettie, Hetty
Henrietta, Hester, Mehittabel
Ibb
Isobel
Ina
Christina
Isobel and variants
Elizabeth
Isott, Izet etc
Iseault or Isolda
Izzie, Izzy
Isabel and variants
Jane
Joan, Joanna, Johanna
Janeta, Janett, Janis, Janot
Janet
Jenny
Jane
Jill
Gillian or Jillian
Jo
Joanne, Josephine
Joan
Jane, Joanna, Johanna
Josie
Josephine
Judy
Judith
Jug
Joan
Kate, Katie
Catherine, Katherine
Kerah, Keren, Kerrie
Kerrenhappuch
Kit, Kitty
Katherine, Margaret
Kizzie
Keziah
Laura
Laurel, Lauretta, Laurinda
Lenore, Leonora
Eleanora
Letty
Alice, Lettice
Lexie
Alexandra
Libby
Elizabeth
Liddy
Lydia
Lil
Lillian, Lily
Lina
Caroline
Linda
Melinda
Lisa, Liz, Liza, Lizzie or Lizzy
Elizabeth
Livie
Olivia
Lola
Delores
Lottie
Charlotte
Lou, Lulu
Louisa, Louise
Lucy
Louisa, Lucille, Lucinda
Mab
Mabel
Macey
Thomasine
Madge, Maggie
Margaret
Maisie
Margaret, May
Mamie
Mary
Mandy
Amanda
Mara(h)
Damaris
Marge
Margaret, Margery, Marjory
Mariet, Marriete
Mary
Marion
Mary Ann
Marty
Martine
Matthew
Martha
Mattie, Matty
Martha, Matilda
Maud
Matilda
Maudie
Maud
Meg, Meggie, Meggy
Margaret
Mel
Melanie, Melinda
Mele, Melia, Millie
Amelia, Emily, Mildred, Millicent
Mima
Jemima
Minnie
Wilhelmina, Melinda, Hermione, Ermintrude
Missy
Melissa
Mitzi
Margaret
Mog, Moggy
Margaret
Molly
Mary
Nan, Nancy, Nanny
Anne, Agnes
Natty
Natalie, Renate
Nelie
Cornelia
Nell, Nellie
Cornelia, Ellen, Eleanor, Helen
Nessa
Vanessa
Nettie
Agnes, Annette, Janet, Jeanette
Nibb
Isobel
Nika
Veronica
Nina
Anne
Nita
Anne, Janet
Nora, Norah
Eleanor, Honour, Leonora
Oona
Una
Pam
Pamela
Pat
Patricia
Patsy
Martha, Patricia
Patty
Martha, Matilda
Paula
Paulina, Pauline
Peg, Peggy
Margaret
Penny
Penelope
Phemie
Euphemia
Philly
Philadelphia, Phyllis
Pip, Pippa
Philippa
Polly
Mary Ann
Prisca, Prissie, Prissy
Priscilla
Pru, Prudy, Prue
Prudence, Prunella
Queenie
Victoria
Rae, Ray
Rachel
Reba
Rebecca
Rene
Irene
Rita
Margaret
Rona
Rowena
Rosa
Rosina
Rosie
Rosa, Rose, Rosemary, Rosina, Rosimund, Roshanna, Roslyn
Rue, Ruthie
Ruth
Sadie, Sairey
Sarah
Sally
Salome, Sarah
Sam
Samantha
Sheba
Bathsheba
Sibyl
Sibella, Sybilla
Sife
Cynthia
Stella
Estelle, Esther, Hester
Sue, Sukie, Susie
Susan, Susannah
Syssely
Cecilia and variants
Tabby
Tabitha
Taggy
Agnes
Tamsin
Thomasin, Thomasina
Teena
Christina, Stephanie
Teesha
Letitia
Terrie, Terry
Teresa, Theresa
Tess, Tessie
Theresa
Tetty
Elizabeth
Thea
Dorothea
Tia, Titia Crescentia, Laetitia
Tibby, Titty Elizabeth
Tilda Matilda
Tilly Matilda
Tina Christina, Clementina, Valentina
Tish  Letitia
Tottie Charlotte
Treena Catriona
Triffie Tryphena, Tryphosa
Trissie, Trixie Beatrice
Trudy Ermintrude, Gertrude
Ulla Ursula
Unice, Uny, Una Eunice
Val Valerie
Velma Wilhelmina
Vi Viola, Violet
Vicky  Victoria
Vina Lavinia
Viv Vivienne
Winnie, Wyn Winifred
Yve Yvonne
Zelda Grizell

 

Feminized Versions[edit | edit source]

Many girls’ names are feminized versions of boys’ ones. English examples include Hectorina, Jane, Janet, Joan (these three from John), Michaela, Paula, Petra, Patricia, Roberta. From northern Europe come Hansine (Hans), Johanna (Johann/John), Larsine (Lars), Nielsine (Niels), Rasmine (Rasmus) and Wilhelmina (Wilhelm/William) and there are dozens more.

________________________________________


Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course English - Understanding Names in Genealogy offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com <br>

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.