To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Endell Street, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Endell Street, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Endell Street, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Giles in the Fields and St George Bloomsbury
Registration District St Giles
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

A chapel which was built as part of the British Lying-in-Hospital, Endell Street Holborn, was founded in 1749 and closed in 1913. Close to 100,000 baptisms and births occurred during its operation. It was one of four lying-in hospitals established in Greater London in the mid-18th century. This hospital was principally intended for the "wives of poor industrious Tradesmen or distressed House-keepers" and the wives of soldiers and sailors. It was exclusive for married women only.

1848 parish description Christ Church, Endell-street is a Tower parish. It is adjacent to the City of London, in the hundred of Ossulstone, Middlesex. The patron is the rector of St. Giles.[1]

Description of Endell Street written in 1914-

Endell Street was originally called Belton Street, it was formed in 1683, the name refers to the the Bronlow family at Belton in Lincolnshire. About 1846 the street was widened and renamed Endell Street, after the Rev. James Endel Tyler, the Rector of St. Giles.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

PARISH NAME parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
PARISH NAME Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Endell Street Holborn on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 26 December 2013.
  2. Riley, W. Edward and Gomme, Sir Laurence Survey of London, Volume 5: St Giles-in-the-Fields 1914 Adapted. Date accessed: 26 November 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk