Emmet County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Emmet County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Petoskey
Organized: January 29, 1853
Parent County(s): Mackinac[1]
Neighboring Counties
Charlevoix  • Cheboygan  • Mackinac
See County Maps
Courthouse
Michigan, Emmet County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Michigan, Emmet County Locator Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Robert Emmet. The County is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Emmet County Courthouse
200 Division St.
Petoskey, MI 49770
Telephone: 616-348-1744
Emmet County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1867, divorce records from 1875, court and naturalization records from 1800’s and some military records. [3]

Emmet County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1800s 1853 1867 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Emmet County, Michigan online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,149
1870 1,211 5.4%
1880 6,639 448.2%
1890 8,756 31.9%
1900 15,931 81.9%
1910 18,561 16.5%
1920 15,639 −15.7%
1930 15,109 −3.4%
1940 15,791 4.5%
1950 16,534 4.7%
1960 15,904 −3.8%
1970 18,331 15.3%
1980 22,992 25.4%
1990 25,040 8.9%
2000 31,437 25.5%
2010 32,694 4.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Emmet County courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Emmet County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Mackinac CountyCheboygan CountyCharlevoix CountyMI EMMET.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Emmet County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Emmet County.

Online Indexes and Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
  • Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

  • Petoskey Michigan Family History Center
    707 Alcan
    Petoskey, MI 49770
    Phone: 231-348-8407
    E-mail:MI_Petoskey@familyhistorymail.org
    Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Little Traverse Historical Museum
100 Depot Court / PO Box 2418
Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: 231-347-262
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Emmet County Genealogical Society
455 Bay Street/P.O. Box 2476
Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: 231-347-8800
Facebook Website

Harbor Springs Area Historical Society
349 East Main Street
Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone: 616-526-9771
E-mail:info@harborspringshistory.org
Facebook Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Emmet County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emmet_County,_Michigan."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Emmet County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emmet_County%2C_Michigan, accessed 18 September 2019.